The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 19, 2012, 12:43 AM   #26
JimDandy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 8, 2012
Posts: 2,426
I kind of get that.. it was not including the bench mounting bolts that made me snicker... I wouldn't want to give away $35 inserts, especially ones the other guy doesn't want at all i.e. large rifle which I wouldn't load much on a progressive.... But really why can't you include 2 3 inch bolts, some washers and a couple nuts?
JimDandy is offline  
Old November 19, 2012, 01:13 AM   #27
JimDandy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 8, 2012
Posts: 2,426
By the way, those of you who picked up the Ammo Plant... did you get an extra lower die activated powder drop? I have a full powder drop, and another plastic box like the bullet feeder dies come in with an extra lower. And I have an extra rifle insert along with the one that came in the rifle rotor, and a pistol insert and rotor.
JimDandy is offline  
Old November 19, 2012, 08:42 AM   #28
dickttx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 483
My only problem has been with the shellplate allen bolt coming loose. Last week my primers started seating high. After going through things I found the shellplate was loose. I had already put a copper lock washer under it. Thought the copper, being softer, might work better than a steel one. I just added "check bolt for tightness" to my preflight checklist.
Haven't had it come loose enough for the spring to get under it. You may want to check your ammo for high primers if it was that loose.
__________________
Education teaches you the rules, experience teaches you the exceptions (Plagiarized from Claude Clay)
dickttx is offline  
Old November 19, 2012, 09:38 AM   #29
jmorris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Posts: 1,597
Quote:
But really why can't you include 2 3 inch bolts, some washers and a couple nuts?
They don't know how thick of a bench everyone is going to use.

Also every dollar counts when price is your major selling point. This is why the base machine is pretty stripped compared to the D word presses.
jmorris is offline  
Old November 19, 2012, 10:11 AM   #30
dickttx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 483
Yep, normal bolts they would have included wouldn't have went through my 3" maple top. And probably would have been too long for a 3/4" top.
__________________
Education teaches you the rules, experience teaches you the exceptions (Plagiarized from Claude Clay)
dickttx is offline  
Old November 19, 2012, 10:14 AM   #31
hounddawg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 1, 2009
Posts: 760
just did the large fender washer and used a steel lock washer under it. Did not pull out the torque wrench but I doubt I used over 2 or 3 ft pounds to "flatten" the lock washer.

SAE torque specs on a 3/8 - 16 bolt is between 16 for a grade 1 bolt up to 47 on a grade 8
__________________
Government is like a baby. An alimentary canal with a big appetite at one end and no sense of responsibility at the other. - Ronald Reagan
hounddawg is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07360 seconds with 7 queries