The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 1, 2012, 05:17 PM   #1
bamiller
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 3, 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 455
Large primer vs. small primer powder

Fairly new to reloading and need veteran input. I've been loading .45 ACP with 5.2 gr Bullseye powder, 230 FMJ bullets, and CCI large pistol primers for range/target use. I have purchased some .45 small primer brass and want to load those for range/target use. My question is do I have to adjust the powder amount when switching to the small primers and if so, what amount of powder is recommended?
bamiller is offline  
Old October 1, 2012, 05:45 PM   #2
Misssissippi Dave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 5, 2009
Posts: 1,407
You will loose about 30 feet per second using small primers compared to large primers. If you are loading above the minimum you probably won't notice any difference. The main difference will be seen when you measure the bullet speed.

Make certain you have separated the small primer cases from the large when you start reloading. I do use both and I don't change my load when I switch from one to the other.

YMMV
Misssissippi Dave is offline  
Old October 1, 2012, 07:13 PM   #3
moxie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 17, 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 513
Agree. No difference. Use the same loads.
__________________
If you want to shoot...shoot...don't talk! Tuco

USAF Munitions 1969-1992
RVN 1972-1973
moxie is offline  
Old October 1, 2012, 08:14 PM   #4
tkglazie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 3, 2011
Posts: 558
From a safety standpoint, I agree with the above. As long as you are not at the minimum you should be fine safety-wise. However, the only way to determine if your large primer recipe will give you max accuracy when used with small primers is to workup the load again just like if you were changing any other component.

If you are looking for a plinking load, sure, just swap components. If you are looking for max accuracy, the only way to get it is to work up the load again until you achieve max accuracy.
tkglazie is offline  
Old October 1, 2012, 08:56 PM   #5
WESHOOT2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 20, 1999
Location: home on the range; Vermont (Caspian country)
Posts: 14,270
No.
__________________
.
"all my ammo is mostly retired factory ammo"
WESHOOT2 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06817 seconds with 9 queries