The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 20, 2012, 10:04 PM   #1
mitranoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 24, 2011
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 335
AR15 sling

My S&W VTAC came with a decent VTAC padded sling. I'm definitely open to suggestions for mounting it?
mitranoc is offline  
Old September 21, 2012, 08:54 AM   #2
Destructo6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 18, 1999
Location: Nogales, AZ USA
Posts: 3,806
Mount it and don't look back.

Was there an issue regarding the actual mounting the sling or were you wondering if it was any good?
__________________
God gave you a soul.
Your parents, a body.
Your country, a rifle.

Keep all of them clean.
Destructo6 is offline  
Old September 21, 2012, 10:24 AM   #3
shrewd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 12, 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 293
for a 2 point sling using the swivels that I assume came with the rifle should be fine, though I think having a sling adapter end plate is the
Cats meow. Also good if you run a 2/single point conversion sling (my fav)
shrewd is offline  
Old September 21, 2012, 11:05 AM   #4
LordTio3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2010
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Posts: 850
It would really help to know what rail setup and stock mounting options you have. A simple picture would do well, or a picture of one similar. Do you have any rail options on the handguard? Front sight base or gas block? Do you have the M4 collapsable stock or another option? All of these things will affect your options.

~LT
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ- Greek:"Come and take them..." Meaning: Here we peaceably stand as armed and free men, willing to defend that peace, and ready to make war upon anyone who threatens that freedom.
LordTio3 is offline  
Old September 23, 2012, 12:40 PM   #5
mitranoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 24, 2011
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 335
Destructo6-
Just wondering what the best options were to mount it.

LordTio3,
Here's pics



mitranoc is offline  
Old September 23, 2012, 02:19 PM   #6
arizona98tj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 10, 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 973
That really stinks for what appears to be a higher end stock and hand guard don't provide much in the way of attachments points for a sling. You have to wonder what the manufacturer was thinking. Maybe you can get some of a strap with a QD buckle on it...tie it off to the hand guard?

In contrast, my DD Omega 7.0 rail and VLTOR EMOD stock both provide easy QD sling mounting points.

__________________
stu-offroad.com
Largest Jeep TJ project site on the web!
(now with guns)
arizona98tj is offline  
Old September 23, 2012, 04:21 PM   #7
mitranoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 24, 2011
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 335
arizona98tj,
Anywhere you see slots, I can add rails and mount accessories?
It appears I can mount mine exactly as yours is. The underside of my handguard I used a small rail segment to mount the RVG vertical grip. So all I'll need is a small rail segment with a swivel on it for the side.
mitranoc is offline  
Old September 23, 2012, 04:47 PM   #8
arizona98tj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 10, 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 973
Outstanding....if you can put a small rail segment on, with a QD socket in it, that would work well. I'm quite sure I've seen those available. I've been 100% satisfied with how mine have worked. It's been through multiple training courses (2 & 4 day) and I've never had the AR come off the sling.

Since I wear mine across the front of my body, having the swivels on the side of the AR allows it to lay flat and it doesn't try to flip over. If I were wearing it over my strong side shoulder, I'd have the attachment points on the bottom of the AR like a conventional sling.

Sounds like you have a workable solution!

Edit: Forgot to mention...I use the padded VTAC sling on my FNH SLP shotgun. I use the regular VTAC sling on my M&P15, as can be seen in the above photo. I really like the sling. The ability to adjust it one handed, while moving (if necessary), is great.
__________________
stu-offroad.com
Largest Jeep TJ project site on the web!
(now with guns)
arizona98tj is offline  
Old September 23, 2012, 05:29 PM   #9
mitranoc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 24, 2011
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 335
Cool, thanks for the info! I checked out Kyle Lamb's demo video for the VTAC sling...it's really slick.
mitranoc is offline  
Old September 24, 2012, 06:16 AM   #10
Mobuck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 2, 2010
Posts: 2,226
Mount it right next to the kitchen sink or maybe behind the fridge.
Really, it's a sling-half of mine are tied on where they work best with paracord.
Mobuck is offline  
Old September 24, 2012, 12:40 PM   #11
LordTio3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 5, 2010
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Posts: 850
I'm not a big QD junkie, so mine are usually just strapped right on. If it were mine, I'd lace my sling through that sling loop at the back of your stock and through a couple of those slots up front on the handguard. It's hard to mess up a sling.

~LT
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ- Greek:"Come and take them..." Meaning: Here we peaceably stand as armed and free men, willing to defend that peace, and ready to make war upon anyone who threatens that freedom.
LordTio3 is offline  
Old September 24, 2012, 10:57 PM   #12
arizona98tj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 10, 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 973
Quote:
Really, it's a sling-half of mine are tied on where they work best with paracord.
Had a guy in one of my training classes do that....I believe it was with a shotgun. Part way through the course, he was picking his off of the ground. Paracord failed....couldn't handle the heat. Just sayin'......
__________________
stu-offroad.com
Largest Jeep TJ project site on the web!
(now with guns)
arizona98tj is offline  
Old September 25, 2012, 12:30 AM   #13
Ridge_Runner_5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 8, 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,882
You can get QD sockets to mount to the stock where those little holes are behind the cutout.

http://store.magpul.com/product/MAG335/188

And this guy should mount directly to the slots on your handguard:

http://www.impactweaponscomponents.c...tics-inc-vtac/
Ridge_Runner_5 is offline  
Old September 26, 2012, 06:29 AM   #14
Mobuck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 2, 2010
Posts: 2,226
I had all of the high volume fire "classes " I wanted when Uncle Sam was buying the guns and ammo. Sounds like the wanna be Rambos get their rifles pretty hot.
My uses involve 1-5 shots at a coyote so I don't worry about a hot barrel melting my paracord sling mount.
Mobuck is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.09196 seconds with 7 queries