The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 19, 2012, 06:08 PM   #1
kwm1971

Cleaning Brass without tumbling

I'm new to reloading and would like to know if there are any shortcuts to cleaning bass with household / auto cleaners. I'm only looking at cleaning 50 - 100 rounds at once but don't want the added expense of a tumbler. Anything to soak brass in overnite or for few days?
Old September 19, 2012, 06:27 PM   #2
tkglazie

you can clean them in the sink or a bucket and dry them in the sun or the oven (on low), or some people put them in the washer tied up in panty hose or lingerie bags. By the way- just in case you thought they cost a lot more, a perfectly good franklin arsenal tumbler costs $40 delivered. Combine that with $10-15 of petstore supplies (corncob media and walnut media and a $7 bottle of nufinish and you are good for years. http://www.amazon.com/Frankford-Arse...rsenal+tumbler

I discovered this one and bought it after washing a few batches in a bucket. It makes me shake my head every time I use it (weekly) that I didnt think I would want one.
Old September 19, 2012, 06:40 PM   #3
oldandslow

kwm, 9/20/12

I cleaned and reloaded my first 80,000 pistol and rifle rounds without a tumbler and there were no problems. Tumbling is a great way to get your cases to look pretty but gives no advantage when shooting.

I would combine case inspection and cleaning in one step. Just take each case and, with a paper towel, wipe off the base, extrator groove and body and then look inside the mouth. It takes about 7 seconds per case. I never had a problem missing cracked cases or scratching dies on my press.