The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 13, 2000, 12:20 PM   #1
jb26

I'm totally new to reloading and need some info..

Looking at Lee products in specific…

With some dies and kits, it is advertised that you don’t have to clean the shells, is this true? Do you just have to clean the primer pocket, and size/chamfer the shell?
Do you always have to size and chamfer the shells?

If using Carbide dies, do you have to lube anything?

When do you need to use a “factory crimp die” vs a regular bullet seating die?

How is the ‘hand auto-primer’?

The P6 by any other name is just as sweet. -jb26 (in an obscure reference to the sig 225)

ex libertatum et iusticia, pax
Old December 13, 2000, 01:53 PM   #2
Fred

jb26,

I'll try to answer some of your questions. I'm sure some folks more knowledgeable than me will jump in as well. I use Lee carbide dies for straight wall pistol reloading. I always tumble my brass first to clean it of range grit, dirt, etc. I don't use any kind of lubrication on the cases, and since Im lazy, I don't clean primer pockets on my practice ammo.

I haven't used the Lee hand primer, so can't comment. I do use the Lee Factory crimp die for all my pistol reloading, and would recommend it highly. This die post sizes the case as well as crimping it. This insures it will chamber in pretty much anything, and works well for me, since I like to separate the bullet seating from crimping operation anyway. Hope this helps you some.
Old December 13, 2000, 02:25 PM   #3
DAL

jb26, don't believe everything you read. I, too, bought into the idea that I didn't need to clean my cases because my Lee carbide dies were so tough. I no longer labor under that illusion after ruining a .357 resize/decap die. Invest in a tumbler and clean your cases first. You'll be happy you did.
DAL