The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 19, 2012, 09:12 AM   #1
jclayto

Mec 600 adjustment question - photo attached

Thanks to everyone for help in my previous post. I finally tried to make a live shell this morning and encountered the following two issues. I believe that the final crimp stage is set too deep as it is crimping into the hull. I am also getting a bulge closer to the base. Both are visible in the attached photo.

I am looking at the troubleshooting guide in my manual now but the old black and white problem photos are a little hard to see. I would like to hear from the great people here before I attempt any adjustments and perhaps make the situation worse.

Thanks!
Old August 19, 2012, 10:19 AM   #2
jclayto

I should add that my cases are Winchester AA light's. I am very new to this to I apologize if this is a dumb question - I am looking at the spent AA shells and they appear to be 8 point crimps. I just looked at my crimp starter and one of the finished crimped shells and it looks like it may be 6 point? Would that cause the crimp problem?
Old August 19, 2012, 01:39 PM   #3
Shootest

Yea, it looks like you used the wrong crimp starter. Tell more about your load. What wad, powder charge, shot charge? Win AA have always been good cases for me.
Old August 19, 2012, 07:24 PM   #4
jclayto

Shootest,

I am using AA hulls, 1oz Lawarance #8 and Claybuster Lightning wads CB4100B's. I am running a #25 bushing with clay's powder. I am hoping for a very light recoil load for CAS.

Thanks in advance for any input.
Old August 20, 2012, 09:46 AM   #5
oneounceload