The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 13, 2012, 05:09 PM   #1
smokiniron

Crimping 30-30 with a 30-06 crimp die???

Greetings....

I'm reloading some 30-30 with Hornady's FTX rounds in 160 gr. I need a crimp die, as the bullets are way too loose. My equipment is Lee progressive and a Lee hand press for low volume work-ups.
Can I use my Lee 30-06 crimp die to crimp 30-30? I'm only asking since the bullets are both .308", and the crimp is only at the tippy-top of the case.
Am I nutz? Or maybe OK....
Thanks!
Old August 13, 2012, 05:14 PM   #2
m&p45acp10+1

I have no experience with reloading for either so I am unsure. Though off the top of my head I think the .30-30 would be too short to go far enough into the '06 die for crimping. Though if you have all of your brass to a uniform length then you should be able to crimp effectively with the seating die you have. Some seat all of the bullets to length then crimp with a roll crimp for lever actions to keep the bullet from being pushed too deep while in the magazine.
Old August 13, 2012, 05:19 PM   #3
judgecrater

crimp

The 30-30 is too short to reach the crimp portion of the 30-06 die. But the bigger question is why is the bullet too loose? If the brass is properly resized the bullet should be very tight without a crimp. I have never crimped any of my rifle bullets and have never had a problem. If after seating your bullet it is not tight, there is a major problem that crimping will not fix.
Old August 13, 2012, 06:25 PM   #4
m&p45acp10+1