The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 2, 2012, 09:32 PM   #1
ATPBULLETS

What 3 reloading factors most affect accuracy...?

As stated in title.....

i am brand new to the firing line forum... been observing for a while and reloading for about a year and i load for 3-4 rifle calibers, and 2-3 pistol
calibers....

What 3 reloading factors most affect accuracy...??
what do i need to "dial in" and keep dialed in for good "hunitng accuracy"
Rifle vs pistol ...... if your factors are different...

Thanks for the replies...
Old August 2, 2012, 09:45 PM   #2
m&p45acp10+1

The single greatest factor I can think of at this time is the shooter being familiar with thier weapon. As long as your loads are consistant practice more with them. One of the secrets of hand loaders is not just the loads. We tend to shoot more often, and know the weapon, and its performance well.

Other than that I say budget, and time are the other two.
Old August 2, 2012, 09:53 PM   #3
Lost Sheep

Bullet stability is one that is nearly guaranteed to be left out.

The relationship between rate of twist, bullet velocity and bullet weight/length affect bullet stability in flight. If a load causes identical bullets to leave an absolutely perfect barrel at exactly the same velocity every time, if the bullet yaws because the spin rate does not stabilize it, you will never get good groups.

Another overlooked factor is case volume. If you have one case with more brass in it, there is less free volume for the powder and combustion, so pressure will be higher. Seating a bullet deeper (or less deep) affects that volume. Depending on your charge, powder and fill ratio this COULD introduce more variation than varying the charge weight.