The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old July 6, 2012, 10:54 PM   #1
ww4970

Bushmaster

I just got my first Bushmaster I just wanted to hear what you guys think of bushmaster.
Old July 7, 2012, 07:03 AM   #2
madcratebuilder

Like any commercial grade AR they are generally GTG. The current owners of Bushmaster have lost a little in the area of customer support. I've owned different Bushmaster for almost twenty years now, still have two of them. They have been fine rifles, keep them lubed and run good ammo in good mags and you'll be fine.

Don't be concerned with the brand name snobs saying X or Y is better than Z. Just learn how to maintain the fire arm. Download a copy of the Army manual, google "TM 9-1005-319-23&P". This well cover all you need to know.
Old July 7, 2012, 08:23 AM   #3
ScottRiqui

I have a Bushmaster XM15-2es that I've been very happy with. It's a bare-bones A2-type rifle with no upgrades/modifications, because I wanted a practice rifle that's very close to what I use to qualify with in the Navy. The trigger is a little rough, but then again, so are the ones on our qualification rifles.

I bought it used from the local Marine gun range for $600. They sell theirs fairly frequently, before they've accumulated many rounds, so it didn't have many signs of wear. I don't have any complaints, and would have no problems recommending them to anyone else.
Old July 7, 2012, 08:29 AM   #4
10Ringmagic

I have a XM15 E2 Bushmaster that I bought brand new four years ago.

It has been a great AR, never once failed to go bang when the trigger is pulled, just as accurate as my Colt.
Old July 8, 2012, 03:16 PM   #5
boostedtt91