The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Closed Thread

Old June 6, 2012, 11:30 PM   #1
trkkshotbry

Best .45 cal carbine

Hello all. I'm new to the sight but with a wife and three kids I've been away from the gun sports scene for about 10 years now. I'm thinking I want a light handy carbine in. 45 but I don't know what the best bang for my Buck would be in the under a grand category.
chime in with your opinions and reasons and eventually ill post up my decision.
I figure my NEEDS will be fairly well covered with my 1911, semi auto Browning 12 gauge, a .308 semi auto rifle and a carbine in pistol caliber. 45. This way I don't have to stock more than 4 calibers of ammo.
Looking forward to getting to know you all and thanks for your input.

Bryan aka trkkshot.
Old June 7, 2012, 01:10 AM   #2
Bamashooter

I like Hi-Point carbines. Mine is very accurate, very reliable, very good price, and it has a lifetime no questions asked warranty. The down side is no high capacity magazines. I countered that with several low capacity magazines.
Old June 7, 2012, 08:03 AM   #3
Hansam

Get one of these:

http://palmettostatearmory.com/index...c-edition.html

and one of these:

http://olyarms.net/index.php?page=sh...hk=1&Itemid=37

PS don't pay MSRP for the upper.

Slap them together and voila! you have a light and handy .45acp carbine!

When the itch to get other uppers chambered for the multitude of other calibers available for the AR gets too strong to ignore then you can scratch that too.
Old June 7, 2012, 08:30 AM   #4
Stressfire

Can't really go wrong with the Hi-Point. They aren't pretty, they are cheap, the trigger sucks, but they are tough and they go bang just about every time you squeeze the trigger.

If it turns out that you don't like it, you are out maybe $250 tops and can easily sell it away. The lifetime warranty is a nice touch as well