The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 22, 2012, 12:22 PM   #1
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
Remington 1100 20 gauge problem

I picked up a basically new Older Remington 20 gauge 1100 3" mag from an estate sale a few weeks ago. Gun is spotless and appeared unfired had been sitting in a gun cabinet since 1979. It was very sticky with a very old coating of oil. I took it apart and soaked it in solvent for a few hours and everything went back together great. But the gun isn't cycling shells. I have had several 1100's and never had this problem before what could be causing it?

I replaced the gas seals when putting it back together and made sure the gas port was open.
I fired about 15 2-3/4" rd's through it and only had it cycle once

I am stumped any ideas before I bring it to a smith?
Thanks!
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 12:44 PM   #2
Grant D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 14, 2011
Location: Brazos County, Texas
Posts: 775
I had a problem with mine shooting low brass shells, they wouldn't eject.I also had a gunsmith drill out the gas ports a little larger.I would dissasemble it and clean it again first.
Grant D is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 12:47 PM   #3
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
I was using high brass quality ammo. I too have had that issue with low brass n autos. I think it's gotta be something with the gas system perhaps I may need to take it in. I have taken it back apart 3 times now that didn't solve the problem.
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 01:42 PM   #4
Butter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: June 13, 2008
Posts: 8
Can you give us a bit more info? Is it extracting and ejecting and just locking back?
Butter is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 01:57 PM   #5
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
It's not extracting nor ejecting. The bolt did not cycle except for once in 15rds where it just opened and locked back but didn't eject spent round.
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 02:02 PM   #6
AllenJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 11, 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,273
Did you take the stock off and clean the recoil spring and tube?
AllenJ is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 02:09 PM   #7
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
Yes sure did it was very gummed up with some sticky old oil. Gun cycles very smoothly by hand with no binding or other issues.
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 02:24 PM   #8
AllenJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 11, 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,273
The only other thing I would do before taking to a gunsmith is run a box of 3" shells through it to see how the gun does with them.
AllenJ is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 02:25 PM   #9
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
Thats kind of what I was thinking also. I don't think this gun was ever used and it's very tight still although it cycles nice by hand. I will try that and see what happens.

Thanks everyone for the info!
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 02:38 PM   #10
zippy13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,404
I suspect you reassembled the rings incorrectly -- a common 1100 error. They can be placed in eight different orientations and only one is correct.
zippy13 is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 03:01 PM   #11
markj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 27, 2005
Location: Crescent Iowa
Posts: 2,967
1100 magnums will only shoot a 3 in mag. Gas operated needs the huge gas the threes put out. Or switch it to a regular barrell uses the 2 3/4 shells.

11-87 will shoot both.

http://www.remington.com/products/fi...ng-series.aspx

for a manual to download
markj is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 03:01 PM   #12
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
I thought that as well at first but I double checked and they are on correctly.
Checked against 12 gauge 1100.
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 03:09 PM   #13
zippy13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,404
Faulty O-ring?
zippy13 is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 03:50 PM   #14
TheKlawMan
Junior member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,149
I have only shot an 1100, but is the gas port(s) clogged up and, like Zippy said, is it a new O-ring?
TheKlawMan is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 04:30 PM   #15
oneounceload
Junior member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2008
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 8,518
IME, 1100's will fire basic target loads - even the magnum versions - without any trouble - I suspect a clogged port or incorrect piston assembly as mentioned
oneounceload is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 05:19 PM   #16
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
Brand new o-rings tried 2 of them, gas port isn't clogged.
DaveMN is offline  
Old March 22, 2012, 08:43 PM   #17
Virginian-in-LA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 11, 2012
Location: Evangeline, LA
Posts: 725
I have had 5 Remington 1100 3" Magnums, including two 20 gauges. Remington said they would shoot 3" and 2-3/4" Magnum loads. They do. Very rerely will one shoot light loads reliably. The 12 gauges are sometimes a bit more forgiving, but the 20s have always been real picky about ammo. Get a 2-3/4" chambered barrel and it will shoot anything. Don't go drilling out the gas port willy-nilly and ruin a good barrel. Gander Mountain used to drill a second gas port and tap it for an Allen head set screw so you could switch back and forth.
Virginian-in-LA is online now  
Old March 22, 2012, 10:19 PM   #18
Goatwhiskers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 8, 2009
Location: Batchelor, La.
Posts: 464
If you drill out the gas port on a 3" barrel to reliably handle 2 and 3/4" loads you ruin the barrel for the big shells. You have too much gas hitting the system when shooting 3" mags and will create battering and breaking of parts. Goat
Goatwhiskers is offline  
Old March 23, 2012, 11:06 AM   #19
zippy13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,404
I've seen adjustable gas ports for M-1 rifles, and I thought I saw one for 1100s, too. If available for the 20-ga, oversize the port, get an adjuster and you'll be able shoot anything.

Edit: I used the wrong term, it's not the port that's adjustable, but the gas plug.

Last edited by zippy13; March 24, 2012 at 01:32 PM.
zippy13 is offline  
Old March 23, 2012, 01:38 PM   #20
markj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 27, 2005
Location: Crescent Iowa
Posts: 2,967
I bought a 1100 12 ga magnum as did my boss, they would only shoot the 3in mag. I ususally shoot the high load 2 3/4 for pheasant but they would not cycle. Put on my barrell from the regular 1100 and it would shoot the 2 3/4 shells. Asked the guy behind the counter at guns unlimited a gunsmith he told me same thing, magnums would only shoot 3 in shells. Sold the magnum still have the other one.

Thats my exp. for whatever it is worth.
markj is offline  
Old March 23, 2012, 06:23 PM   #21
Virginian-in-LA
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 11, 2012
Location: Evangeline, LA
Posts: 725
The only real difference between them is the gas porting in the barrel and the action sleeve. The Magnums have a heavier sleeve.
Virginian-in-LA is online now  
Old March 23, 2012, 07:06 PM   #22
shortwave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 17, 2007
Location: SOUTHEAST, OHIO
Posts: 5,930
Guess I'm fortunate. My 12 ga. 1100mag. will cycle 2 3/4" high brass same as 3" mag. bbl with the mag. bbl. . I've never tried 2 3/4" low brass in it though.
shortwave is offline  
Old March 24, 2012, 01:02 PM   #23
joe45c
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 22, 2012
Location: peru ny
Posts: 124
my 1100mag will also cycle 2 3/4 high brass and 3" mag. but for sure it won't cycle 2 3/4 low brass, but it's not supposed to either.
joe45c is offline  
Old March 24, 2012, 01:34 PM   #24
zippy13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 6,404
If you want an auto loader to shoot a wide variety of ammo, then the old 1100 isn't your best choice. With their fixed gas system, if you get out of their comfort zone, they either fail to cycle or get pounded.
zippy13 is offline  
Old April 5, 2012, 07:07 PM   #25
DaveMN
Member
 
Join Date: March 20, 2012
Posts: 31
I put 3 boxes of 3" mags through it last weekend. Then switched back to 2-3/4 high brass and it's working fine now.

I just don't think the gun was ever fired and being 25+ years old it was cranky.

I never use cheap low brass or target loads so I knew that wasn't the problem.

Thanks for the suggestions everyone!
DaveMN is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.11849 seconds with 7 queries