The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 8, 2012, 10:59 PM   #1
TonyW0214
Junior Member
 
Join Date: March 8, 2012
Posts: 1
Wolf ammo brass case

I have about 500 rounds of .223 Wolf ammo that my S&W M&P15 hates. Can anyone tell me if it would be safe to break it down and put the bullets and powder into a brass case. I wouldn't change the powder load just swap out the cases. I can't think of why it would be a problem but I am new to reloading. Any help would be appreciated.
TonyW0214 is offline  
Old March 8, 2012, 11:59 PM   #2
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
I cant see any reason why it wouldnt be safe, but I would think you would about break even just selling it and buying components... way less work... put up a local add, and meet whoever buys it in a walmart parking lot. (I never do gun transactions at my home, scary)
dacaur is offline  
Old March 9, 2012, 12:34 AM   #3
mrawesome22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 9, 2005
Location: Ohio, Appalachia's foothills.
Posts: 3,779
You would be adding a different component and would need to reduce the powder charge 10% and work up.

Your reloading manuals should state this.
mrawesome22 is offline  
Old March 9, 2012, 12:34 AM   #4
Sport45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 25, 1999
Location: Too close to Houston
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyW0214
I have about 500 rounds of .223 Wolf ammo that my S&W M&P15 hates.
What do you mean by "hates"?

If the gun doesn't like those bullets coming out of steel cases it probably won't like them coming out of brass cases either.

As decaur mentioned above, I'd probably just trade or sell the stuff.
__________________
Proud member of the NRA and Texas State Rifle Association. Registered and active voter.
Sport45 is offline  
Old March 9, 2012, 01:22 PM   #5
Jimro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 18, 2006
Posts: 5,773
Steel cases can handle more "chamber pressure" than brass, so I wouldn't try it without a load workup.

Your best bet is to pull apart 40 of the Wolf and measure each powder charge (that way you can calculate average, SD, and ES). Then you can do a load workup from 10% under the average to the average to see how it performs. Once you've done that, you can disassemble the rest of the Wolf and reload to your hearts content.

Still might be quicker and easier to just buy fresh components after selling off the Wolf.

Jimro
__________________
"Gorsh" said Goofy as secondary explosions racked the beaten zone, "Did I do that?"

http://randomthoughtsandguns.blogspot.com/
Jimro is offline  
Old March 9, 2012, 01:39 PM   #6
Jim243
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 5, 2009
Location: Just off Route 66
Posts: 4,652
Seems like a lot of work even with a bullet puller, I'd follow Jimro's advice and sell it off and buy new components.

Jim
__________________
Si vis pacem, para bellum
Jim243 is offline  
Old March 9, 2012, 08:32 PM   #7
chris in va
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 26, 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 12,650
You don't want to pull 500 rounds, trust me.
chris in va is offline  
Old March 9, 2012, 09:05 PM   #8
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
I pulled 25 rounds of 300 savage to re-load today (working up a hunting load). PITA... I cant imagine doing 500.....
dacaur is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.09690 seconds with 8 queries