The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 27, 2012, 07:56 PM   #1
poline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 27, 2009
Location: Richmond,Va
Posts: 292
Co-Witnessing iron sights!

I Have a Red Dot mounted on a AK, the rear sight is blocked from view by the mount. At 25yds I must aim 1yd below the target to hit what I'm aiming at, just using the front sight viewed thru the Red Dot. I guess this means I can forget co-witnessing with this set up!
poline is offline  
Old January 27, 2012, 09:55 PM   #2
poline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 27, 2009
Location: Richmond,Va
Posts: 292
Any thoughts or advice on this or does everyone agree with my plight?
poline is offline  
Old January 28, 2012, 01:19 PM   #3
Carne Frio
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 28, 2008
Location: Near Fairbanks Alaska
Posts: 734
The only way that I have heard to cowitness involves
Aimpoint and Ultimak. Both are spendy, but work.
Carne Frio is offline  
Old January 29, 2012, 02:14 AM   #4
poline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 27, 2009
Location: Richmond,Va
Posts: 292
The Red Dot works fine when it is turned on. I'm trying to come up with a way to sight the rifle when the Red Dot is not turned on or is not operational, other than takeing the Red Dot off! I'm thinking that I must be able to see both front and rear sights thru the Red dot to do this. I don't see where the brand of Red Dot matters. I'm looking for confirmation on this line of thought.
poline is offline  
Old January 29, 2012, 04:47 PM   #5
Carne Frio
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 28, 2008
Location: Near Fairbanks Alaska
Posts: 734
The brand doesn't matter. How low it is when mounted does.
The Aimpoint/Ultimak reference is the only combo that I have
heard that does. That combo places the red dot in between
the front and rear sight. You can see through the sights
whether the red dot is on or off.

Here are some threads to read from an Ak forum.
http://www.theakforum.net/phpBB3/sea...imak++aimpoint
Carne Frio is offline  
Old February 3, 2012, 04:21 PM   #6
poline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 27, 2009
Location: Richmond,Va
Posts: 292
Thank you, for your replys and advice!
poline is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07783 seconds with 7 queries