The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 14, 2011, 11:01 AM   #1
shrewd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 12, 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 290
a new to me ithaca 37 featherweight

hey guys, i just picked this baby up at a gun show on saturday, and i had a few questions.

the serial is 631,xxx-2, which i believe means its a '56 manufacture?

from what i understand this means i cannot swap out the barrel, which appears to be a fixed mod choke.

can i shoot slugs through this gun? i've been shooting pistols and rifles for some time now but this is my first shotgun. i would like to get into clays and trap and such, and almost picked up an 870 as a general entry level shotgun but the ithaca was too classy not to take instead.

what do i need to know here guys?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg trigger.jpg (4.7 KB, 71 views)
File Type: jpg tube.jpg (4.6 KB, 63 views)
File Type: jpg both.jpg (5.3 KB, 69 views)
shrewd is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 12:12 PM   #2
Mike Irwin
Staff
 
Join Date: April 13, 2000
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 35,696
It's the older 'corn cob' forearm, so IIRC that means it was made prior to... 1963-64, I think.
__________________
"The gift which I am sending you is called a dog, and is in fact the most precious and valuable possession of mankind" -Theodorus Gaza

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Mike Irwin is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 12:27 PM   #3
jaguarxk120
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 28, 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,928
If the Ithaca was made before 855,000 serial number then the barrels are fitted. Don't let that stop you, if you find a extra barrel from before 855,000 it can be fitted by www:diamondgunsmithing.com , they specialize in the Ithaca's. The other route is to have choke tubes fitted by Mike Orlin.

Shoot the gun first you may like it just as it is.

If your wanting to cut it down for home defence go looking for a Mossberg 500 with the slug barrel. Please don't chop a real nice classic.

Last edited by jaguarxk120; November 14, 2011 at 04:05 PM.
jaguarxk120 is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 01:14 PM   #4
shrewd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 12, 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 290
oh yeah, i'm not touching this baby, i love the look of it.

can this gun shoot slugs though? is it safe to shoot a rifled slug through her, with the fitted choke and all?


all ive shot through her is 10 shells of what i could find at the gun show, just two boxes of winnie 00 buck
shrewd is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 04:08 PM   #5
jaguarxk120
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 28, 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,928
Go pick up a few box's of Remington gun club shells they are on sale right now at Dick's Sporting Goods.
I'm assuming the gun is a 12 gauge, it will do anything you want. Easy to carry in the field and swings great.
jaguarxk120 is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 06:29 PM   #6
krimmie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 11, 2007
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 164
[QUOTE][can this gun shoot slugs though? is it safe to shoot a rifled slug through her, with the fitted choke and all?/QUOTE]

You can safely shoot slugs through it. When you say "rifled slugs", if you are referring to sabots, you can, but accuracy won't be as good as run of the mill foster style slugs.

Here's an old post describing it better than I am willing to

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10114
krimmie is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 06:43 PM   #7
shrewd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 12, 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 290
thanks bud

here's another question. i'm reading on the disassembly and such to do my first proper cleaning and oiling and i notice on youtube most ppl firing a 37 featherweight seem to have 5 or 6 in the tube.

i can only load 2 into my mag. does that mean there's a plug in there, or was this standard in the older ithacas? can i augment the amount of shells that can be kept in the magazine?

don't get me wrong, i'm not trying to make some 9+1 room clearer here, but i'm just curious about any differences i'm seeing between my own and all the others on the interwebz
shrewd is offline  
Old November 14, 2011, 07:53 PM   #8
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam
 
Join Date: October 13, 1999
Location: Columbia, Md, USA
Posts: 8,812
There's a plug. Most 37s have the magazine capacity of 4 rounds. If it runs to the muzzle, it holds more.
Dave McC is offline  
Old November 15, 2011, 07:50 AM   #9
jaguarxk120
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 28, 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,928
Ithaca made a very nice magazine plug from a dowel rod section, there are instructions on how to install it printed on the side of the plug. Please note the plug fits inside of the magazine spring, any other way will cramp the spring and ruin the spring tension. If you do not have the Ithaca plug then Bubba is alive and well as he would use anything at hand for a magizine plug.

Please note that the Ithaca M37 is still in production and all parts can be had from Ithaca in Ohio.
jaguarxk120 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08340 seconds with 8 queries