The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 7, 2011, 07:30 AM   #1
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
nikon prostaff scopes

hey guys I have a nikon prostaff 3-9x40 bdc mounted on my ruger m77 markII 243 rifle. I have used this thing for probably 2 to 3 years now and i have never had a bit of trouble on it. Recently i went to the range with it to make sure it was on for my girlfriend to shoot. everything looked good it needed a little adjustment but not a big deal. After getting it home and thinking it would be fine for her to shoot just for a couple of days i deceided to take her to the range and let her shoot it and put it on paper for her. after she shot 6 times or so i noticed she was left about 3 inches and high about 2. Now we are using a caldwell leadsled with a bag of shot for weight. after a few more shots she was still to the left and high so i adjusted for it. then she went right 2 inches and down 2 inches. Has any one else had this issue with a prostaff or is it just her. I watched her shoot and she isnt doing anything different. she does the same thing every time. She had a set that was right in the bulls eye and then the next three with no adjustment were 2 inches low but dead center. I have it close enought for now for deer season being a week away but i was just wondering if there was a problem with this scope or if it was just her.
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 07:54 AM   #2
Palmetto-Pride
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 31, 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,875
Two things could be happening first when you sighted it in last was the barrel temp pretty hot when you made your last adjustment? I know with most rifles a hot and cold barrel will have slighty different points of impact also She may look thru the scope a little different than you. Different people using the same scope will see the crosshairs a little different. Did you try shooting it before you made any adjustments to see if it was on for you?
__________________
“The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people's money.”

-Margaret Thatcher-
Palmetto-Pride is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 08:10 AM   #3
Skadoosh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 13, 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,773
What scope rings are you using?
Skadoosh is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 08:58 AM   #4
Marquezj16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 3, 2011
Posts: 2,088
Quote:
Different people using the same scope will see the crosshairs a little different.
^^^^^^^^^
This is probably the reason.
Marquezj16 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 10:12 AM   #5
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
When i sight in i normally load three in the clip and shoot my three then make adjustments, so yes i would say the barrel was heated up at MY last shot. When she started shooting she would shoot one and then put another in so it didnt heat up like it did on me. How ever after her first six shots I shot three and it was right on before any adjustments were made. After probably 15 shots or so i let it cool down and moved on to my 270 and then brought it back out when i got done with it. That is when it was shooting 2 inches low at 100 yards and i thought it would be fine so i left it. The scope rings i am using are the ruger rings that came with it and i believe they are a high ring.
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 10:18 AM   #6
Skadoosh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 13, 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,773
Was the scope properly installed so that there is no scope creep? Rings lapped or anti-slippage rosin used during scope installation?
Skadoosh is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 10:27 AM   #7
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
i installed the scope so i cant say any of that is true. the rings can only go on one way because they have that special lip on them. I have never had any problem with this gun. last winter i dropped a coyote at 250 yards with no problem. i just dont understand why when i go to sight it in for a new person to shoot it now wants to be all scattered and i cant get it back to zero
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 11:04 AM   #8
Skadoosh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 13, 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,773
Re-install the scope but this time put witness makes to see if there is any slippage.
Skadoosh is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 11:51 AM   #9
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
and also on the note of adjustments when the first six were 2 inches high and 2 inches left 8 clicks each way should of put the cross hairs at dead center correct. being one click is 1/4 inch at 100yards is what it says on the scope

what may i ask is whitness makes?
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 12:12 PM   #10
black mamba
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2011
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 547
Witness marks are marks on the scope tube immediately before and after the scope rings, so you can "witness" whether or not the scope moves in the rings from recoil. If it does move, one witness mark will be covered up, and there will be a gap between the other mark and the scope ring.
black mamba is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 12:44 PM   #11
warbirdlover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 13, 2009
Location: central Wisconsin
Posts: 2,324
Sounds like loose scope rings.
warbirdlover is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 01:42 PM   #12
tahunua001
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 21, 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,883
I bought a prostaff 3-9x40 when I was 16 for my fisrt deer hunt. 6 years later it is still zeroed. I bought a 3-9x40 BDC for my AR15 2 years ago...it is still shooting MOA groups at 200 yards.

if I didn't know better I would say she's flinching
__________________
ignore my complete lack of capitalization. I still have no problem correcting your grammar.
I never said half the crap people said I did-Albert Einstein
You can't believe everything you read on the internet-Benjamin Franklin
Bean counters told me I couldn't fire a man for being in a wheelchair, did it anyway. Ramps are expensive.-Cave Johnson.
tahunua001 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 02:07 PM   #13
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
I thought the same thing with her flinching but like i said it was pretty much perfect conditions and the gun was on the lead sled with weight on it. we tried it with a hand on the forarm and off the forarm and pretty much same results. I watched her from behind and never saw her pull or anything. After season i will remove the scope and re check and put some witness marks on it to see.
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 02:18 PM   #14
tahunua001
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 21, 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,883
did you try different ammo? I know when I first started I didn't know much about ammo or guns in general so I would always get the cheapest ammo that walmart had(80 gr remington corelocks). I had a horrible time trying to zero it between me making one adjustment, my older brother making another and my best friend making another. eventually I went to get more ammo and walmart had a special on 100gr federal powershoks so I picked up a couple boxes. it took 5 rounds to zero and the rest of a box to make sure my older brother and my hunting buddies could all hit the same thing...all of us were hitting reasonably close to the same spot with all of our groups being within 1-2 MOA. ever since then that's the only bullet i get for it... you might have issues with bullet weight to barrel twist ratio or just poor ammo. you may also have a fouled barrel if you shoot a lot of soft lead but I rarely see soft lead 243 ammo so doubtful that is the case.
__________________
ignore my complete lack of capitalization. I still have no problem correcting your grammar.
I never said half the crap people said I did-Albert Einstein
You can't believe everything you read on the internet-Benjamin Franklin
Bean counters told me I couldn't fire a man for being in a wheelchair, did it anyway. Ramps are expensive.-Cave Johnson.
tahunua001 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 04:01 PM   #15
TX Hunter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 11, 2010
Location: East Texas USA
Posts: 1,776
I think your scope is not holding its setting.
TX Hunter is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 04:48 PM   #16
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
I normally run remington 100grain core lockt. being its a nikon scope i have the "nikon spot on" app on my computer and iphone and i found that winchester and remington made the same ammo. so the last box i bought was winchester 100 grain power point. same 2960 fps and bc is 0.356 same ammo just different maker as far as i can see. i have always shot remington 100gr psp core lockt. never anything else.
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 05:24 PM   #17
HKGuns
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 12, 2005
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 885
As the others have said that sounds like a classic case of your mount not being secure. That would be the first thing I checked at least.
HKGuns is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 07:19 PM   #18
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
i have wiggled and pulled and checked all the screws and bolts and i cant find any thing lose but as for now i am going to leave it being low as to where i know where its at. im in an 4 inch circle at 100 yards so she will kill what ever is there providing she is aiming in the right spot. but as soon as deer season is over i will check it all over. as goes for missrouri weather its calling for rain the next 2 days so there will be no time to go sight in if i try and fix it now.
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 7, 2011, 07:33 PM   #19
Cowboy_mo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 896
I think you posted the answer to your problem.

You said you have always use Reminton ammo but now were using Winchester. Now, while they both show the same muzzle velocity, bullet weight, and ballistic coefficient, they don't use the same bullet.

It could definitely be the difference.
Cowboy_mo is offline  
Old November 8, 2011, 07:11 AM   #20
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
yes i have always used remingtons and when we were at the range over the weekend i was still using remingtons i picked up the box of winchesters because when i looked at my spot on it showed the same information even through the bdc yardage and the same information even on the ballistics table. same point of impact etc so i dont see where there would be much difference. but as far as the scope goes it has always been with remingtons.
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 8, 2011, 10:28 AM   #21
bman940
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 29, 2010
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 107
scope

JD, The guys have given some excellent rason's for the issues you are having.
Soemtimes if the scope is canted a tad that will affect shot group. If the rings are not tightened the same on both sides that can also cause a slight force pull to the over tightened side. I think you are wise to consider remounting the scope after the season. Maybe some friction tape or lapping will help. It has been my experience that the problems are usually in the mounting but sometimes there can be a scope issue as well.
__________________
Bart
Nikon Pro Staff
bman940 is offline  
Old November 8, 2011, 11:40 AM   #22
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
I agree with what they have said on the scope moving. Last night while cleaning my 270 i pulled the 243 back out of the safe and took a good look at the scope. i grabbed ahold of it and tried to move it and at one point i thought it may have just a little bit. when i set the scope on the rings im 95% sure that i put the front ring all the way as far forward as it would go and after looking at it last night it looks as tho it may have slid forward about a 1/4 of an inch. This may be my problem. If this is the problem and all my bolts are tight what can i do to keep it from moving?
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 8, 2011, 11:46 AM   #23
bman940
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 29, 2010
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 107
scope

Friction tape or lapping would be my suggestion. Quality rings are definitely worth the money as well. Just be careful when tightening the rings if you use a friction tape.
__________________
Bart
Nikon Pro Staff
bman940 is offline  
Old November 8, 2011, 12:04 PM   #24
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
i understand the quality rings. the bad part about the ruger is that weaver stlyle rings will not work on it becuase of the way the top of the barrell is made. So there for you have to buy the rings from ruger or someone that sells the ruger rings, which is what i did and they were 30 bucks a piece. Friction tape and laping compound is that something i need to get from a gun shop or can i get it else where?
jd3020 is offline  
Old November 8, 2011, 12:08 PM   #25
jd3020
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2011
Location: mo
Posts: 175
ruger high.jpg here is a picture of the ring that i use. this is a generic picture off of the web but as you can see the round notches at the bottom of the ring and that has to sit inside the top of the barrell
jd3020 is offline  
Reply

Tags
243 win , bdc , nikon , scope

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12682 seconds with 8 queries