The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old September 26, 2011, 09:12 PM   #1
countryboy12v

star firestar 45

hey yall. im new here.
im am lookin at a star firestar 45. it has L2, which i know from internet searchin that shows it was built in 1992. it also has a crest with a knights head and a burstin bomb with no number/letter inside. the pistol has been taken very good care of. i know the owner personally.
i am fairly new to the pistol world but not the firearm world.
any info, comments, opionion is greatly appriciated.
Thanks,
Keith
Old September 26, 2011, 09:27 PM   #2
lee n. field

http://www.star-firearms.com/firearm...ar/index.shtml
"As was the man of dust, so also are those who are of the dust, and as is the man of heaven, so also are those who are of heaven. Just as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the man of heaven. "
Old September 27, 2011, 02:26 PM   #3
lee n. field

Quote:
i am fairly new to the pistol world but not the firearm world.
There are a couple recent threads on Star handguns. Here, and here.

I picked up a 9mm Firestar last year. Based on that, I'd grab a .45 if it came available.
"As was the man of dust, so also are those who are of the dust, and as is the man of heaven, so also are those who are of heaven. Just as we have borne the image of the man of dust, we shall also bear the image of the man of heaven. "
Old September 27, 2011, 04:50 PM   #4
Andy Taylor

Those were decent guns for the pricepoint. Very well built. The problem these days comes if anything ever does break, parts are almost non existant. I wouldn't mind having one in my collection.
Old September 27, 2011, 06:46 PM   #5
Walt Sherrill

The problem with parts may be less of a problem than it once was. Bill DeShivs recently posted a name and website where most Star parts can be found. That was a great thing for those with Stars.