The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 20, 2011, 08:26 AM   #1
one more shot

Remington cases not chambering

I have been reloading on and off for almost 15 years and I ran into a problem and had to get some opinions on.

I previously owned a Ruger No.1 in 7mm Rem Mag and was reloading with RCBS dies, in different brands of cases, never having an issue. I no longer have the 7mm and a friend of mine was using the shells for his Savage 7mm. There are 3 different brands of cases, Rem, Feds, and WW. The Federal and Winchester feed fine, but the Remingtons won't chamber.

Upon close investigation of the loaded cases, there are resizing marks on the Remington cases at the base just above the belt that are not on either of the other case brands. My resizing die goes all the way to touch the case holder in the press. I use hornady sizing lube. Also, I used my micrometer to measure the case width at the bottom to get a maximum and all the other brands were a few thousandth's smaller.

I don't know how to get the cases any smaller in the base(just above the belt).
Old September 20, 2011, 08:39 AM   #2
Jim Watson

There is a patent gimmick collet die that will size right in front of the belt (you still have to use a regular sizing die for the neck and body) but it is an expensive route to save some used brass. I would advise him to discard the Remingtons and move on with the other brands or some new brass fireformed in his gun.
Old September 20, 2011, 08:44 AM   #3
Savage32-20