The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 19, 2011, 07:02 PM   #1
UtopiaTexasG19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 3, 2011
Location: S.E. Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 743
Do I Crimp The .223?

On rifle bullets up until now I have only re-loaded the 30-30 Winchester which are crimped since they go into a tubular magazine. I plan on working up some .223 for a AR15 and wonder if the .223 needs to be crimped also. The commercial rounds I have now show no sign of crimping. Thanks...
UtopiaTexasG19 is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 07:09 PM   #2
mehavey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 17, 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,960
Quote:
wonder if the .223 needs to be crimped also....
Negative -- crimps are neither needed nor desired in most gas guns (ARs, Garands/M1A's etc.).

Normal neck tension is more than enough and evens out possible/normal variations in case length.
mehavey is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 07:18 PM   #3
chris in va
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 26, 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 12,562
I do, just to prevent any bullet setback. Mine are just plinkers though, nothing like 1moa accuracy.
chris in va is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 08:00 PM   #4
UtopiaTexasG19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 3, 2011
Location: S.E. Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 743
What has me a bit confused is that Lee has a "factory crimp" die for the .223 and I wondered why they would make a die that is not needed. Hmmmmm.
UtopiaTexasG19 is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 08:29 PM   #5
Charlie_98
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 22, 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 288
To crimp or not to crimp is a question with about as many answers as there are reloaders.

My answer... I crimp some and don't crimp others. My 'surplus-equivalent' ammo (in both 5.56mm and 7.62mm) get's lightly crimped with a LFCD; my long-range loads (BTHP bullets) don't. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Others crimp everything (I was that way until I started loading for the M1a,) and others don't crimp anything. They are all correct... for them.

No-crimp brass needs to have good neck tension, my rule of thumb is to use newer brass for more consistent neck tension.
Charlie_98 is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 08:53 PM   #6
jhansman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 17, 2007
Posts: 624
I crimp my Saiga .223 rounds, just for peace of mind. There's a lot going on in and AK action.
__________________
Blessed is the man who has nothing to say, and cannot be compelled to say it.
jhansman is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 08:57 PM   #7
kraigwy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 16, 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 9,478
I don't crimp any of my rifles (excluding my loads for my Marlin 94 in 38/357

I certainly arn't going to crimp my 223 or any other target rounds.
__________________
Kraig Stuart
CPT USAR Ret
USAMU Sniper School Oct '78
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
kraigwy is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 09:13 PM   #8
jolly roger
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 15, 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 118
I LIGHTLY crimp with a Lee Factory Crimp Die all 223 and 308 fired in semi autos. NEVER crimp for a bolt gun at all. Just a little added insurance to make sure there's no bullet set back. ALL military ammo is crimped by the way.
jolly roger is offline  
Old September 19, 2011, 10:19 PM   #9
Jim243
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 5, 2009
Location: Just off Route 66
Posts: 4,578
For auto-loaders YES for bolt NO. Do what YOU think is the best for you.

Jim
__________________
Si vis pacem, para bellum
Jim243 is offline  
Old September 20, 2011, 06:37 AM   #10
joyrock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 12, 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 151
I don't, but I can see why to do it in auto loaders. I have never had any problems (in my AR-15) with not crimping my 223. Thats my 0.02$.
__________________
Oleg Volk is my hero!
joyrock is offline  
Old September 20, 2011, 07:16 AM   #11
steve4102
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 23, 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,247
Here is a good article on loading for "Service rifles". You should read the whole thing, but to answer your question scroll down to "Neck Tension". Pay particular attention to the part about the bullets moving forward.

http://www.exteriorballistics.com/re...sgunreload.cfm
steve4102 is online now  
Old September 20, 2011, 07:41 AM   #12
wingman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 20, 2002
Posts: 2,074
I load for accuracy in small numbers for my AR if I were reloading for storage
and rapid fire I would crimp to prevent possible bullet movement maybe even primer seal.
wingman is offline  
Old September 20, 2011, 09:12 AM   #13
praetorian97
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 9, 2011
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 455
To each his/her own.

I crimp my 223 because it runs through my AR. ARs by pure nature are notorious for slamming the bullet into the camber. Hence why they even make a sturdier series of primers for ARs.
praetorian97 is offline  
Old September 20, 2011, 09:34 PM   #14
jepp2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 24, 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 1,353
Be aware that because someone else says they don't need to crimp doesn't mean that you don't need to crimp.

The chambering action of the AR can cause the bullet to be driven deeper into the case when the bullet tip hits the feed ramp. It can also cause the bullet to move forward in the case as the case stops suddenly and the inertia wants to pull the bullet out of the case just like an inertia bullet puller.

What I would suggest you do is to know your overall length. Try some without a crimp. Let the firing action chamber a round you know the length of. Pull the bolt back and catch the round before it hits the ground. Measure the length and compare that with the bullet OAL you have recorded. Doing this several times will tell you if you need to crimp for your particular setup.

The reason you can't rely on other folks experience is because your brass, your bullets, your sizing dies, your techniques can be different and that "could" affect neck tension. Different brass can have differing neck thickness.
jepp2 is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07405 seconds with 9 queries