The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 28, 2011, 07:00 PM   #1
spacecoast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 14, 2009
Location: Sunshine and Keystone States
Posts: 4,006
Question about Bullseye rules

I've been shooting Bullseye matches for a while and would like to know if it's permissible to load an extra round in either the magazine or cylinder in case you have a misfire/misfeed and have time to clear and squeeze off the extra round in either Timed or Rapid Fire. I realize that the official command is always "With 5 rounds... load" but I'm not sure that precludes loading an extra round. It seems that this would enable the match to proceed more smoothly and quickly with fewer refires. As long as you fired only 5 of the 6 rounds you originally loaded, would this be a rules violation?
spacecoast is offline  
Old August 28, 2011, 07:43 PM   #2
kraigwy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 16, 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 9,211
Correct, the command is "With five rounds load" meaning 5 not 6 rounds.

Firing an extra shot will get your highest shot counted as a miss. So lets assume you fire 5 rounds, the targets turn and you let a 6th round go but missed the target.

What happens is you loose the high shot on the target. Lets say you score 5 tens, and 5 nines ( you fire two mags of 5 rounds). You loose one of the tens so you score is 4 tens, 5 nines and one miss or 85 points.

Of course if you fire both strings firing an extra shots, you get two misses or 20 points.

There is no need. If there is a legit malfunction, you get an alibi string.

There is no excuse for trying to skirt around the rules, (AKS "cheat"). I think more effort would be to practice more shooting right.
__________________
Kraig Stuart
CPT USAR Ret
USAMU Sniper School Oct '78
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
kraigwy is offline  
Old August 29, 2011, 05:30 AM   #3
spacecoast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 14, 2009
Location: Sunshine and Keystone States
Posts: 4,006
Kraig, I'm not sure the situation you described is the same. I'm not asking about actually firing a sixth shot, but about ejecting or skipping a live round if for some reason it doesn't fire. Only five shots would actually be fired, but you would have an extra round available if you had a misfeed or light primer strike. Legal?

Last edited by spacecoast; August 29, 2011 at 01:39 PM.
spacecoast is offline  
Old August 29, 2011, 02:25 PM   #4
4EVERM-14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2006
Location: Pennsy
Posts: 553
Quote:
the command is "With five rounds load" meaning 5 not 6 rounds.
That is the key phrase. Any deviation from the command may constitute a"Refusal To Obey" violation[9.33] or "Evasion Of The Rules"[9.34]
The idea of having an extra round available is not bad but it may create a safety issue for the match officials. Getting distracted, which happens to all of us, could result in a hazardous situation. Putting a closed pistol back in it's box is allowed. Now consider being distracted and forgetting to clear the chamber before boxing the pistol.
I'm not trying to be a Rules Nazi but they are set up for the safety of all.
__________________
David
NRA Benefactor Member
Distinguished Rifleman #731
Presidents 100
4EVERM-14 is offline  
Old August 29, 2011, 03:13 PM   #5
spacecoast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 14, 2009
Location: Sunshine and Keystone States
Posts: 4,006
Thanks for the reply. I understand the safety concern, but would also point out that if the proper sequence is followed, i.e. "CEASE FIRING- UNLOAD- CYLINDERS OPEN- MAGAZINES OUT- SLIDES BACK- GUNS ON THE TABLE..." at the end of the match as well as during the match, no live round will be left in the gun, even if after that sequence is followed the guns are allowed to be put in the box before going downrange to score.
spacecoast is offline  
Old August 30, 2011, 07:56 AM   #6
darkgael
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2006
Location: Homes in Brooklyn, NY and in Pennsylvania.
Posts: 4,218
Rules

As noted already, "Load five rounds" is pretty clear. Note the difference between that and the command for the slow fire stage, "you may load" or simply "Load". One, two, ten...your choice. Not in sustained fire.
Pete
__________________
"Only hunting and mountain climbing are sports. The rest are just games." - R.Ruark
NRA Life Member

Last edited by darkgael; August 30, 2011 at 03:07 PM.
darkgael is offline  
Old August 30, 2011, 08:45 AM   #7
kraigwy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 16, 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 9,211
Another thing about commands.

After the target turns back on completion of 10 or 20 seconds, you get the command of.

"Cease Fire......Any Alibis or Saved Rounds?"

Then people start looking around. Some one sees you eject a live round there may be questions.
__________________
Kraig Stuart
CPT USAR Ret
USAMU Sniper School Oct '78
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
kraigwy is offline  
Old August 30, 2011, 09:30 AM   #8
spacecoast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 14, 2009
Location: Sunshine and Keystone States
Posts: 4,006
According to the rulebook at bullseyepistol.com the command is

"CEASE FIRING- UNLOAD- CYLINDERS OPEN- MAGAZINES OUT- SLIDES BACK- GUNS ON THE TABLE. ARE THERE ANY REFIRES?"

I've never heard the term "saved rounds" used, but would be interested in what that refers to.

Also, the match I shoot previously used the term "alibis" in calling the match but has recently changed to "refires", which would seem to better conform to the rulebook.
spacecoast is offline  
Old August 30, 2011, 10:11 AM   #9
kraigwy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 16, 2008
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 9,211
Quote:
I've never heard the term "saved rounds" used, but would be interested in what that refers to.
It's a carry over from rapid fire rifle shooting (high power) used in a lot of bullseye matches. It tells the scorer that a given target should be short a round or two (depending on how many saved). Saves a dispute about possible doubles.
__________________
Kraig Stuart
CPT USAR Ret
USAMU Sniper School Oct '78
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
kraigwy is offline  
Old August 30, 2011, 02:32 PM   #10
4EVERM-14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2006
Location: Pennsy
Posts: 553
Quote:
at the end of the match as well as during the match, no live round will be left in the gun, even if after that sequence is followed the guns are allowed to be put in the box before going downrange to score.
This is why I posted about being distracted. A seasoned shooter recently finished a string. Or so they thought. Made a short comment to a neighbor and placed their gun in the pistol box. In doing so the .45 pistol discharged through the box and down range. Apparently the mind jumped ahead, thinking the clearing process had been completed, and put the gun away.I only got the highlights of this incident so surely there is more to the story. But it shows even experienced people get complacent.
__________________
David
NRA Benefactor Member
Distinguished Rifleman #731
Presidents 100
4EVERM-14 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2013 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07899 seconds with 7 queries