The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old July 31, 2011, 10:33 PM   #1
Yung.gunr

.22lr vs .22 mag

So I'm new to revolvers and I am confused as to why you can shoot a .38 special through a .357 but you can't shoot a .22lr through a .22mag? It seems that if the only difference with the case is the length then you should be able to shoot the shorter .22lr through a .22 mag revolver. I understand with semiautos you can't because of the length and chambering the round, but with a revolver you don't have that issue.

What am I missing?
Old July 31, 2011, 10:38 PM   #2
stevieboy

.22 mag is not only longer than .22 lr but it actually is slightly larger in diameter. Thus, a .22 lr round will not fit securely in a .22 mag chamber. There are "convertible" revolvers like the Ruger Single Six that have different cylinders for the different rounds. But, these guns are not known for their accuracy, particularly when firing the .22 lr through a barrel that is slightly larger in diameter than the .22 lr round.
Old July 31, 2011, 10:48 PM   #3
Sport45

The .22lr uses a heeled bullet. The case diameter and bullet diameter are the same. The .22mag uses a conventional bullet set inside the case. This means even though the bullets are within .001" of the same diameter the .22mag has a larger diameter case and thus a larger diameter chamber.

You can shoot .22lr in a .22mag chamber (not recommended, but not likely to cause injury), but you'll get a lot of case splitting and you won't be impressed with the accuracy. The convertible revolvers that fire both rounds have a dedicated cylinder for each.
Old August 1, 2011, 06:35 AM   #4
Daryl

Quote:
What am I missing?
The posters above explained it pretty well.