The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old July 28, 2011, 05:54 PM   #1
MrWin94

Lighten a DAO Beretta 96 trigger pull

Does any one know if it is possible to lighten a Beretta 96 DAO trigger pull? I have a friend who carries this and would like a lighter trigger, but does not want to get rid of this gun.
Old July 28, 2011, 06:05 PM   #2
Walt Sherrill

A slightly lighter hammer spring would help. Wolff also offers a trigger modification that supposedly makes the trigger smoother and less "stagy."

http://www.gunsprings.com/Semi-Auto%...ID1/mID2/dID36

I have no personal experience with the trigger mod, but have heard good comments. It's not that expensive.
Old July 28, 2011, 06:26 PM   #3
Stressfire

I looked at that site for my 92fs.

Unfortunately,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolff Trigger Conversion Unit
PLEASE NOTE:
Will not function in latest Beretta 92/96 pistols with polymer triggers and newer Taurus models due to design changes in these pistols.
I love it and love to shoot it, but that DA pull is nasty. I would make an attempt at "fixing" it but I'm not that good with a file.

I'd be interested in a solution to this as well.
Old July 28, 2011, 07:07 PM   #4
Walt Sherrill

So, yours has a polymer trigger? (I wonder if you can also replace the trigger. That's a relatively low cost to get something that feels better to you.)

For me, the trigger is everything. You could have a local gunsmith do a trigger (or action) job -- if you like it that much.
Old July 28, 2011, 07:25 PM   #5
MidwestRookie

the wolff conversion unit absolutely will not make your trigger pull any lighter...

a couple guys have noted a 1 lb increase in the stock power unit and the same (sometimes a little grittier) pull weight with the reduced power unit.

the INS unit is not what you're looking for..

all that'll help is a serious trigger job...not just a $2 garage trigger job.