The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 3, 2011, 02:01 PM   #1
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
My A 400 wont shoot???

Guys after deciding after 3 months of looking I got a A 400 Xplor Unico KO. The guns awsome to shoot but it just wont shoot staight at all. No matter what you do your 3 feet high. If you cheat up on it your high, get low on it your high, hold the beed low your high, hold the bead on your high, hold the bead high and well your high. Ive run a skid of ammo through it now just seeing what I need to do and im now beyond frustrated. Ive spend 1700 bucks on the gun and shot several hundred dollars of ammo and accomplished nothing over my old guns. Is there something Im missing or are the guns made this way. If its something they designed them to do, well its dumb
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:14 PM   #2
oneounceload
Junior member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2008
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 8,518
All that PM didn't work?

Have you checked the shims that come with it? There are shim for both RH and LH and to raise/lower the POI - perhaps they need to be swapped?

My wife's is dead on where she points it - in order to fit her, it then does not fit me - I have to "scrunch" up on it and really keep my head down or I see rib and shoot high
oneounceload is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:18 PM   #3
.300 Weatherby Mag
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 6, 2008
Posts: 1,777
Pa,

Listen to oneounce... Check your shims!!!
.300 Weatherby Mag is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:34 PM   #4
jfire3134
Junior Member
 
Join Date: April 25, 2011
Posts: 8
I'm thinking of getting an A400. Are you saying there's a shim, even with the Kick Off system? Does it adjust the POI up and down?
jfire3134 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:35 PM   #5
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Ya know after everything I pm'ed you about thats one thing I didnt ask, exactly how do they work. I felt as though it fit well but if you give me a little inside as to how it works ill try it here and let you know
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:41 PM   #6
jfire3134
Junior Member
 
Join Date: April 25, 2011
Posts: 8
oneounce how do you like it? I'm 5'9, 135 lbs. Pretty small framed. I went and held the 391 and a400. I really liked the way the a400 felt.
jfire3134 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 02:59 PM   #7
oneounceload
Junior member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2008
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 8,518
JM, my wife is about your height (and I won't say a word about a woman's weight on the internet, good or bad) she likes the way it came set up from a friend we bought it from. Personally, I think it is just a skosh too long, but she likes it and shoots well. She has only shot sporting about a dozen times and her best was a 65/100. I reload a 7/8oz load running about 1225-1250 give or take. I will say it even ran my 3/4oz reloads except when it got colder. That would be solved by a little more powder or a hotter primer

PA - there's a "technopolymer" (Beretta's word for wonder plastic) and a stainless steel one. The plastic goes in between the the stock and the receiver and the s.s. goes inside the stock. On page 33 of the manual it starts to explain how to change them and warns that they need to be synchronized - RH with RH, LH with LH. You can make changes for cast on or off and the amount of drop. Our gun came with two sets of shims/spacers

HTH
oneounceload is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 03:06 PM   #8
LSnSC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 5, 2010
Posts: 514
The higher the number on the shim, the more drop at the heel. They should be an SX and DX as well. DX is cast off for righties and the SX is cast on for lefties. The shim needs need to match the plate in the stock.
LSnSC is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 03:07 PM   #9
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
It had the 60 DX in it, if im hitting high would I want to go to the 65 or the 50 or 55
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 03:09 PM   #10
jfire3134
Junior Member
 
Join Date: April 25, 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks for the input. I think you had posted on my shotgunworld thread about how I should consider the xplor over the light, for duck and clays as well as dove and quail. So that's the route I've decided to go. I'll cough up the extra $$ for a little extra weight and capability.

I've been keeping an eye out for any negatives about the a400. so far there's a lot more good than bad!
jfire3134 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 03:16 PM   #11
LSnSC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 5, 2010
Posts: 514
What distance are you checking your POI?
Do you see alot of rib when you have it mounted?
The 65 might help some but 3 feet is WAY high.
Remenber your eye is the back sight , so for poi to go down your eye must go down.
LSnSC is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 03:23 PM   #12
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
30 yards, I tried the 50 first and it went to 5 feet high so im getting the 65 in now, ill let ya know in 5 min
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 03:39 PM   #13
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Well it was 3 ft up and after putting the 65 in now its 1 foot up and out of adjustment. It feels great and I can get as low as possible and it still aint on, and I even shoot off the top of the bead rather than covering
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 04:32 PM   #14
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Can you mix shims together from front and back to make a bigger difference. From the case it had the 60 DX on the front and back and shot way high 2.5-3ft every time, tried the 50 DX on both and made it much worse, went to the 65 DX and it helped bring it down to 1.5-2ft high everytime and the gun felt great. I could pull up with my eyes shot and everything lined up perfect. But you lay the bead on the X at 30 yards and its 1.5ft high. I just dont get it, Ive tried Winchester 9 shot and 7.5 shot, Federal 7.5 shot, Federal 6 shot, Remington 8 shot and its all the same. Then went on and tried to change form and though it felt way wrong it was still high no matter what. Should I call Beretta or is there still something Im missing
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 07:05 PM   #15
TheKlawMan
Junior member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,149
Quote:
But you lay the bead on the X at 30 yards and its 1.5ft high.
Forgive me if I confuse things, PA, but is the bead supposed to be "on" the POA or should the target's 6 o'clock resting on top of the bead?
TheKlawMan is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 07:45 PM   #16
oneounceload
Junior member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2008
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 8,518
Make sure the shims match as per the instruction manual; the other suggestion is to have someone else similar in size/weight try it to see how they do. The reason is, it might not be the gun, it might have to do with you - eyes, shoulder, etc. Had a friend who was having trouble suddenly hitting targets - tried adjusting everything on the gun - wasn't the gun, he had developed cataracts and needed surgery - point is this, if everything has been changed and checked, and it isn't a bent barrel or similar, then there might be alternative causes to be investigated - it could something as simple as the ammo you are using - just like metallic, shotguns develop a preference for certain ammo over others

Good luck, let us know
oneounceload is offline  
Old July 3, 2011, 09:37 PM   #17
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Ok I will keep an update, as far as mixing right handed shims is it ok. Like now I have a 65 up front and a 65 in the rear, what would happen if I were to put say a 65 up front and a 55 at the rear. Wouldnt that technically drop the heel more
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 4, 2011, 07:34 AM   #18
LSnSC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 5, 2010
Posts: 514
It might damage the stock. The plates are drilled to match the shims.
LSnSC is offline  
Old July 4, 2011, 08:31 AM   #19
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
O ok, well I wont try that then
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 4, 2011, 07:09 PM   #20
TheKlawMan
Junior member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,149
Quote:
what would happen if I were to put say a 65 up front and a 55 at the rear.
Per the manual, "The drop and cast of the front spacer and
plate must always be synchronised."
TheKlawMan is offline  
Old July 4, 2011, 09:09 PM   #21
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Yea im not going to try that. Im going to shoot it some more tomorrow and see now that im a little more relaxed and have a 65s on the front and back. Im also going to shoot for my POI at the 6 o clock position off the top of the bead rather than covering the target with the entire bead
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 5, 2011, 07:07 PM   #22
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Well I tryed some more and had some of my friends shoot it and its the same, so Im calling them ASAP in the morning
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 7, 2011, 04:00 PM   #23
pabuckslayer08
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Location: South Central Pa
Posts: 692
Beretta is in the process of a exchange, it was sent off to Gunsmithing LTD in CT for examination.
pabuckslayer08 is offline  
Old July 7, 2011, 04:11 PM   #24
TheKlawMan
Junior member
 
Join Date: June 23, 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2,149
Quote:
Beretta is in the process of a exchange, it was sent off to Gunsmithing LTD in CT for examination.
What is a "process of exchange". You bought a new gun and they should either fix it or give you a new one, but not a used gun turned in for repair by someone else.
TheKlawMan is offline  
Old July 7, 2011, 05:15 PM   #25
BigJimP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 23, 2005
Posts: 11,391
I'm sure they won't send him a re-conditioned gun ....they'll either fix it or replace it if its not relatively easy to fix ....but its the mfg's choice, in most cases, if you read the warranty carefully.

But most guns are easily fixed by the authorized service centers ....
BigJimP is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.11464 seconds with 7 queries