The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old June 22, 2011, 03:23 PM   #1
oneloudvous

First handgun: 22lr vs. 9mm

Im saving up for my first handgun and cant decide which gun I would rather have first. I will probably end up buying the other eventually but it wont be for a while. It will be used to for learning the basics and target shooting.

The two guns Im considering are a Ruger MKIII 22/45 5.5" bull barrel and adjustable sights (model # 10140) and a RIA tactical 1911 9mm.

Im a full time college student and my gun will be kept at home, this basically means I wont get to shoot as often as most of yall do. This is why Im considering the 9mm, I wont be shooting often so the cost of ammo wont be as big of a deal.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

Last edited by oneloudvous; June 22, 2011 at 03:30 PM.
Old June 22, 2011, 03:27 PM   #2
Spats McGee
Staff

What do you plan to do with this gun? You say that it will be kept at home, but is it to be a home/self defense gun? If so, go with the 9mm. The 22LR is a fantastic, cheap plinking cartridge, but I wouldn't recommend it for self defense.

If you ever have a real need for more than a couple of magazines, your problem is not a shortage of magazines. It's a shortage of people on your side of the argument. -- Art Eatman
Old June 22, 2011, 03:32 PM   #3
oneloudvous

I edited my OP to answer your question but it will be to learn the basics and target shoot.
Old June 22, 2011, 03:32 PM   #4
loose_holster_dan

can't go wrong with the ruger mk3. great piece. not a fan of 1911 personally. def not of 9mm 1911's. never heard of the specific model. if you want a 9mm to learn on and get your confidence up early, i recommend a cz 75b. i have seen a beginner out-shoot a seasoned shooter when the beginner has the cz and the veteran has something like a taurus, ruger, or s&w.