The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17, 2016, 05:56 PM   #1
Wendyj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 3, 2015
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 713
Reloading for Glock 26

I've read or heard somewhere that it's hard to reload for a Glock. Something about the dreaded Glock smile. Can anyone shed light on this.
__________________
God is NOT dead!!!!
Wendyj is offline  
Old May 17, 2016, 06:00 PM   #2
jmiller72
Junior Member
 
Join Date: March 27, 2016
Posts: 4
Never heard of this.. I reload for all my glocks. G26, G27, G43, G36, G30s etc.. They all shoot great with my reloads..
jmiller72 is offline  
Old May 17, 2016, 06:13 PM   #3
wpsdlrg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2009
Posts: 785
You are referring to what is commonly known as the "Glock bulge". The earlier Glocks, Generation 2 and older, had severely undercut chambers. In other words, a large portion of the lower side of the case, when chambered, was unsupported. So, in those pistols, anything but fairly light loads had a tendency to cause the brass to bulge when fired. Said brass was then considered not really suitable for reloading. Glock did not design the earliest versions of their guns for reloaded ammo - so they didn't care about this issue. They were designed as service pistols, in which reloaded ammo would likely never be used.

The Generation 3 and 4 Glocks are different in this regard. Glock changed the chambers, so that the "Glock bulge" is no longer a problem.
wpsdlrg is offline  
Old May 17, 2016, 06:27 PM   #4
Wendyj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 3, 2015
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 713
This one is a Gen 4 so I should be ok for plinking ammo I presume.
__________________
God is NOT dead!!!!
Wendyj is offline  
Old May 17, 2016, 06:48 PM   #5
FITASC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 2014
Posts: 1,742
Funny, my Glock Gen2s all work perfectly with my reloads.
__________________
FITASC: Fédération Internationale de Tir aux Armes Sportives de Chasse. http://www.fitasc.com/uk/home/view
FITASC is offline  
Old May 17, 2016, 09:14 PM   #6
wpsdlrg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 18, 2009
Posts: 785
It's not that the earlier Glocks won't work with reloads, the issue is that they tend to distort (bulge) the brass IF using fairly hot loads. If you are not getting bulged brass, then your loads are not hot enough to cause the problem. Therefore, if the problem does not appear....there is no problem.
wpsdlrg is offline  
Old May 17, 2016, 10:35 PM   #7
9x45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 14, 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,020
Any Glock is just any Glock... I've loaded 124's to between 1.175" and down to 1.060" depending on bullet shape, at 3.5 to 5.5 grains of TiteGroup. The G26 is just another Glock, that's all.

__________________
Sometimes my Glock forgets where to look.....
9x45 is offline  
Old May 18, 2016, 11:42 AM   #8
alexcue
Member
 
Join Date: July 28, 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 61
Wendy, I reload for several 9mm's and one of them is a G26. Since I'm in CA, we are stuck with Gen 3 version. It takes all my reloads perfectly. Having said that, since I shoot pistol in an indoor range I end up with Range pickup brass.

When I reload it's pretty easy to spot Glock brass by the tell tale primer strike (at least where I shoot). Every now and then I'll see one with the bulge...

What I do is tumble, inspect and reload as usual, but before I put the reloads into my ammo cases, I run them through a Lyman chamber checker. I would say about 4 out of a 100 will not pass. Visually they look perfect, but sometimes it could be the bulge or the rim has a blemish/scratch that won't let it pass. (when I mean pass is they fall in and out easily! If they catch in any way they have failed this test)

These get run through the Lee Bulge Buster, and I use a 9mm Mak FCD die because the 9mm is a tapered round. You'd be surprised how much leverage you need to run these through the die. Heck I've even resorted to lubing the base a bit with some imperial wax to make it easier. BUT, after running them, and yes they are loaded, through they pass and shoot perfectly. This to me is just insurance that I won't have a FTF, or FTC.
To date this has proved foolproof to my shooting 9mm.
alexcue is offline  
Old May 18, 2016, 03:45 PM   #9
Wendyj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 3, 2015
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 713
Looks like I need to buy a case guage. I just used the barrel on the beretta.
__________________
God is NOT dead!!!!
Wendyj is offline  
Old May 18, 2016, 10:12 PM   #10
9x45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 14, 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,020
A case gage is fine, but the barrel is final. You don't need a case gage.
__________________
Sometimes my Glock forgets where to look.....
9x45 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2015 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06512 seconds with 9 queries