The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old June 15, 2011, 08:12 PM   #1
JGON

WI Boy new to CCW and Revolvers - Suggestions?

Hi all,

I am not new to forums, but I am new to this one...

I've been wanting a Smith and Wesson revolver for as long as I can remember. I've been doing my homework, and this week I finally came to a decision to "pull the trigger" on a S&W 686 Plus with a 4" barrel. This gun would mainly be used for Home Defense, as well as being an open carry firearm when I'm in the woods.

And then I picked up the newspaper and saw that the Wisconsin State Senate passed a weapons bill that will finally allow Wisconsin residents to exercise their constitutional right to bear arms. A concealed carry law will most likely pass this summer sometime.

This changes what my potential uses for a new firearm would be, but I'm torn because I was really looking forward to getting this sizeable Smith and Wesson revolver. I like guns to have a little more weight to them... it feels good in my big hands. I think this would be a great fit for my original uses, but now I'm unsure because my potential uses have changed some.

I've never thought about CCW before in my life, because it's a big time crime to do so around here. But now that it looks like we'll be able to get CC Permits, I'm having second thoughts about this gun.

Does anyone out there CC a 686 or similar sized gun? I'm 6' tall, 200 lbs. I generally wear a button down shirt tucked in for work. Our average year round temperature is 46 degrees, and even in the summer on my off time I wear loose enough clothes to conceal a gun of this size. What about holsters? I know literally nothing about these things, hence, why I'm hear, asking long winded questions

IWB holster? In the front? Back? Elsewhere? Where do I begin?

Thanks,

JGON
Old June 15, 2011, 09:16 PM   #2
Tom Servo
Staff

Quote: