The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 1, 2011, 01:10 PM   #1
DarthNul

Lee Auto Disk powder measure - micro adjust insert problem

I've been using a Lee Pro 1000 for several months now and it's been working really well. It came with the fixed cavity disk type powder measure which has been very consistent with meter friendly powders.

The problem is with the fixed size cavities. Sometimes they force compromises that I'd rather not make. So I picked up the adjustable insert that should let me dial in the exact amount that I want, but the thing is 0.006" thicker than the disks. With the new insert installed it takes considerably more force to operate the measure. I've tried putting some shims in the measure but consistency suffered and powder leakage reached unacceptable levels.

So do I try to shave this thing down a bit, or send it back and hope the next one is sized better?

Is anybody using a different measure on a Pro 1000 (and happy with their results)?
Old June 1, 2011, 01:56 PM   #2
Eazmo

I am using the adjustable disk with my auto disk pro and it works great with no problems. I would call Lee and get there input on the 0.006 difference.

Let us know what they say.

I'm not sure if there is any other case activated measures that will work with Lee dies. but would like to know also
Old June 1, 2011, 05:14 PM   #3
Eazmo

I just checked mine against the disks i have and depending on what disk i check the adjustable one is 0.004 to 0.006 thicker also.

mine runs fine. the only thing i did was work in graphite for break-in and have been using the adjustable from day one.

there is allot of threads that talk about breaking in measures with mica but all i had was graphite so thats what i used
Old June 1, 2011, 06:17 PM   #4
Lost Sheep

Two other solutions

1 Use a thinner shim