The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old May 2, 2011, 11:17 AM   #1
McClintock

Prairie Dog Weekend

I just wanted to share the great father-and-son experience I had with my dad over the weekend. My wife and I had gone to see a country music concert at a town a couple hours drive away, we decided to stay at my parents' Friday night, as the city the concert was in is only an hour away from my parents' farm.

Saturday was a beautiful spring morning, with sunshine and no wind (which is surprising for this part of the country), though the air still had a chill in it. Dad and I were the first ones up in the morning (like father, like son), so after we had our morning coffee, during which we chatted for a bit about farming and work (I'm an IT systems analyst), and then we hopped in the old Dodge Dakota that dad uses for a farm truck and headed out to check on his 90 head of cattle to see if there were any new calves (coyotes can kill newborns if you don't pay attention, and if a cow has trouble giving birth, you may have to play veterenarian). We took along a Savage 17 HMR and a Savage .223 in case we stumbled upon any varmints.

No new calves were sighted, so we turned our attention to the dozens of prairie dogs (Richardson's ground squirrels, actually) running around the area. We moved out of the pasture where the cattle were (wouldn't want to miss a p-dog and take out a new calf or a cow by accident).