The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 20, 2011, 01:58 PM   #1
T-CAIN

Are sonic case cleaners any good?

I stumbled across an add for a lock and load sub sonic case cleaner. Seems like a good way to clean cases considering it cleans the inside of the case as well. Just wondering if anyone has one and if they would recommend it. Thank you.
Old April 20, 2011, 02:21 PM   #2
nathaniel

My dad said his is amazing and it goes much faster than with the regular old media case cleaner.
Old April 20, 2011, 08:18 PM   #3
shredder4286

unfortunately, I have no personal experience with the sonic cleaner. However, I do have a good bit of experience with Hornady products, and I would bet all I own that it's excellent for cleaning cases. Not only that- but you can throw pistol parts, rifle bolts, etc and clean them that way instead of scrubbing and poking away at them with a cu-tip. Jus my two cents
Old April 20, 2011, 11:48 PM   #4
FrankenMauser

Quote:
My dad said his is amazing and it goes much faster than with the regular old media case cleaner.
They do clean much faster.

....But the drying time required afterward, is a bigger time sink that my vibratory tumbler requires for a full cycle.
Old April 21, 2011, 09:12 AM   #5
overkill0084

I would recommend that you purchase a purpose built model designed for reloaders.
I purchased a mid range Harbor Freight model. I was underwhelmed. While it works ok, it's slow and it has to be attended so you can reset it every few minutes.
“At the core of liberalism is the spoiled child – miserable, as all spoiled children are, unsatisfied, demanding, ill-disciplined, despotic and useless. Liberalism is a philosophy of sniveling brats.” — P.J. O’Rourke
Old April 21, 2011, 10:33 AM   #6
snuffy

If you insist on cleaning brass with a wet cleaner, there's noting better than an ultra sonic cleaner.