The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old March 19, 2011, 07:54 PM   #1
GregInAtl

.38 or .380 ACP

I am kind of new to this. What is the difference between a .38 and a .380 ACP ammunition. I am of the impression, maybe wrongly, that they are pretty much the same thing except the .38 is for a revolver and the .380 is for a pistol. Let me know if I am incorrect.

What has the most stopping power .38, .380 or .45. I figure its probably a .45
Old March 19, 2011, 07:58 PM   #2
gearhounds

Right on the money; .38's for revolvers (with an auto or 2 thrown in, but rare), .380's for autos.

For defense within your ammo range, unquestionably the .45.
Old March 19, 2011, 08:12 PM   #3
Kodyo

I have both a .38 special revolver and a .380 ACP pistol.
The .38 special has way more stopping power compared to the .380 ACP.
Physically, the .38 special is a much longer cartridge compared to the .380 ACP.
I'm sure the .45 is technically better, but the .38 special is more than adequate.

Here is a pic of just what .380 acp and .38 special look like side by side

That being said, I wouldn't feel underpowered with either round for personal carry or self defense. I assume you are comparing these 2 rounds for this purpose since that is usually the two choices offered (see S&W Bodyguard series)

Last edited by Kodyo; March 19, 2011 at 09:44 PM.
Old March 19, 2011, 11:41 PM   #4
Jeremiah/Az

The .380 is a 9mm short. The .38 special might be considered a .357 mag short.
Old March 20, 2011, 12:25 AM   #5
Aguila Blanca

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremiah/AZ
While one could think of it that way and, I suppose, not technically be wrong, it should be noted for the benefit of any newbies that the .38 Special is the older cartridge by several decades, and in reality the .357 Magnum is ".38 Special Long."
Old March 20, 2011, 12:31 AM   #6
Cheapshooter