The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 7, 2011, 12:38 PM   #1
wogpotter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 27, 2004
Posts: 3,045
Chronograph can't record pistol loads.

Its an older "PACT model 1" & it has never had a problem with 30 cal rifle bullets so I've just kept & used it with complete satisfaction. I did have an issue with muzzle blast jumping the plugs once, but sitting a sandbag on the cables solved that & it only happened with a muzzle break fitted.

Then I tried using it to check some 125 Gr .357 ammo from a 6" revolver. What a disaster! it seems to be reading blast or something as the velocities vary between 300 & 2000 fps. for every cylinder fired

I've tried it with & without the diffusion screens & at several different distances 10' & 15' mostly, but the problem persists.

Any clever ideas other than buying a new chronograph?
__________________
Allan Quatermain: “Automatic rifles. Who in God's name has automatic rifles”?

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
wogpotter is offline  
Old March 7, 2011, 06:51 PM   #2
Dr. Strangelove
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 1, 2008
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 1,418
Boolits or bullets?

If you're shooting lead with no plating or jacket, it could be having a hard time reading bullet pass of the sensors.
__________________
Just remember, when you pull the trigger, the bullets come out going very, very fast. So make sure to keep the weapon pointing away from you.
Dr. Strangelove is offline  
Old March 7, 2011, 07:29 PM   #3
k4swb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2009
Posts: 317
Move it a little further away from the muzzle.
__________________
My posts are things I have tried or experienced. You may or may not wish to emulate them so read them with this in mind.
Compromise means that both sides give something, but they never give, they just take.
I'm The NRA!
k4swb is offline  
Old March 8, 2011, 03:22 AM   #4
Win_94
Junior member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 214
Quote:
at several different distances 10' & 15' mostly,
I first started noticing false chronograph readings with my 357, I moved it out to 20 yards and never had a problem after. I take all my reading at 20 yards now, just in case.
Win_94 is offline  
Old March 8, 2011, 08:28 AM   #5
wogpotter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 27, 2004
Posts: 3,045
Dr. Strangelove:
It failed with both plated & jacketed bullets. I haven't tried boolitt tips yet though. It is recording something, otherwise I'd not be getting readings at all or a shot number in the string.

k4swb:
"with & without the diffusion screens & at several different distances 10' & 15' mostly"

Win_94:
Do you have a conversion back for MV? I haven't seen any numbers for 20' corrected to muzzle.
__________________
Allan Quatermain: “Automatic rifles. Who in God's name has automatic rifles”?

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
wogpotter is offline  
Old March 8, 2011, 09:34 AM   #6
Clay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 11, 2009
Posts: 166
I had the same issues with my 38spl loads. I read the manual *gasp* and it said this can commonly happen with subsonic rounds. The "blast wave" reaches the chrony before the bullet does, and it ends up registering or messing it up.

If you were doing full house magnum loads then I also don't doubt that the concussion could be causing issues. As suggested, move back a little more and try again.

OH... also don't forget to change the battery. If the battery is getting low it can cause funky readings as well.
Clay is offline  
Old March 8, 2011, 11:52 AM   #7
wogpotter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 27, 2004
Posts: 3,045
Good point about the battery, thanks, I hadn't thought of that.
In theory my loads should be running about 1250 FPS, well above mach 1, but without the chrony data I can't really tell.
__________________
Allan Quatermain: “Automatic rifles. Who in God's name has automatic rifles”?

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
wogpotter is offline  
Old March 8, 2011, 05:38 PM   #8
steveno
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 18, 2004
Location: Minden , Nebraska
Posts: 1,279
if you are getting strange readings with the screens over 15 feet away you other problems. I don't have any muzzle blast problems with my Oehler 33 using magnums and the screens are usually set around 6 or 7 feet.
I would change batterys & chronograph on cloudy days.
steveno is offline  
Old March 8, 2011, 07:04 PM   #9
wogpotter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 27, 2004
Posts: 3,045
It ONLY happens with pistol bullets, both 158 Gr plated & 125 Gr JHPs, rifle bullets work fine at either 10' or 15' depending on the rifle's muzzle blast.
I don't think the problem is distance per se, or nothing would work.
__________________
Allan Quatermain: “Automatic rifles. Who in God's name has automatic rifles”?

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
wogpotter is offline  
Old March 16, 2011, 04:50 PM   #10
Caboclo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 2, 2009
Posts: 195
Wog, try snooping around the reloading forum. They're big on chrono's over there. And +1 on moving farther away.

Last edited by Caboclo; March 16, 2011 at 04:59 PM.
Caboclo is offline  
Old March 16, 2011, 04:55 PM   #11
wogpotter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 27, 2004
Posts: 3,045
I'll try there, thanks.
I'm also gettinga chance to test over a different chronograph, lets see if that gives me more info. It would at least eliminate a possibility if that one had similar problems.
__________________
Allan Quatermain: “Automatic rifles. Who in God's name has automatic rifles”?

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
wogpotter is offline  
Old March 16, 2011, 05:07 PM   #12
eviltravis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 18, 2001
Location: montana
Posts: 271
Move it back further.
eviltravis is offline  
Old March 16, 2011, 08:23 PM   #13
rjrivero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 17, 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 1,349
I had this issue with my Pact as well. I used a second target stand with a piece of cardboard on it about 2-3 feet IN FRONT of the first screen. It blocks the blast and allows for more accurate readings.

It helps if you cut the cardboard to the same shape as the screen and supports so you can see the outline of the chronograph.
rjrivero is offline  
Old March 17, 2011, 07:17 AM   #14
wogpotter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 27, 2004
Posts: 3,045
OK, I wondered about that.
I'll head to the range next time with a cardboard blast screen.
__________________
Allan Quatermain: “Automatic rifles. Who in God's name has automatic rifles”?

Elderly Hunter: “That's dashed unsporting. Probably Belgium.”
wogpotter is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08174 seconds with 7 queries