The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old February 27, 2011, 08:41 PM   #1
indecks

Winchester 30WCF 30/30 - will it survive?

Good evening everyone, I'm a newbie here. First off I hope I've posted this in the correct area. I recently inherited some rifles and shotguns from my father. He passed away in 1997, and I've only just recently received the guns. Most are in decent condition, considering they were literally wrapped in blankets and sitting in the attic insulation for the last 20 odd years.

The rifle I'm most interested/concerned with is a Winchester 30WCF. I don't know a whole lot about guns, as I've only recently rekindled my interest in firearms from when I was a kid. But I do know that if a gun sits for a while it can be damaged/ruined by time.

I'm sorry to ramble, but my question is - does anyone here think that this gun is still usable? I've posted some (what I hope to be decent quality) pictures here. If anyone requires any better pictures I will do my best to get some for you.

Again, if this is in the wrong area, I apologize.

Old February 27, 2011, 08:52 PM   #2
dahermit

From your pictures, rust has done its damage on the exterior. I suspect that improper storage has resulted in pitting from rust in the bore and chamber. If minor pitting in the chamber, sticky extraction would be expected. If pitting were major in the chamber and bore, it would be dangerous to shoot it.
Old February 27, 2011, 08:56 PM   #3
astorbilt

1st Clean and inspect the bore and chamber.
Will most likely be safe to shoot BUT the accuracy may be compromised by a pitted bore and or worn rifling.
Clean properly like you would any rifle, and let an experienced shooter or gunsmith look at it for you.
Old February 27, 2011, 09:01 PM   #4
oneoldsap

Location: I live in the foot of the Green Mountains of Vermont
She sure looks like a Wallhanger from here ! Too bad , it was once a beauty !
Old February 27, 2011, 09:26 PM   #5
dawico