The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 27, 2011, 04:11 AM   #1
wildbill22

Mag spring integrity - loaded vs. unloaded

I'm new in the semi auto handgun of defense use . What is the thought of leaving a mag loaded for a long period of time vs loading it just prior for use to carry ? While the spring is under compression for a long period of time, would the spring lose any of its integrity. Thanks for your input
Old February 27, 2011, 07:21 AM   #2
mete

A PROPERLY made mag spring will not 'take a set'. I've never replaced a mag spring and never worry about leaving a magazine full.
BTW always number your magazines so if there is a functioning problem you can differentiate between the mags.
Old February 27, 2011, 08:18 AM   #3
Sport45

Do you put blocks under your vehicle's frame to unload the springs when you're not using it? Of course not! Springs working within their elestic limits are not damaged by being loaded or by repetitive motion (as long as heat is allowed to dissipate). Magazine springs don't move fast enough to heat up.

By the way, welcome to The Firing Line!
Old February 27, 2011, 08:57 AM   #4
Ben Towe

These gentleman are correct. Magazine springs can wear out, but generally only after years and years of use. You may run into issues on "economy" weapons or cheap aftermarket examples however.
Old February 27, 2011, 09:16 AM   #5
Walt Sherrill

This discussion pops up about every month here on the firing line. I've got a little document I paste in when I see the question asked.

A lot of people will tell you their experiences -- which will generally be based on one type of gun and magazine, and make generalizations based on that experience. Those are good experiences, but they may not be typical.