The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old February 10, 2011, 11:26 PM   #1
swr42

Ruger LC9 v. Ruger LCP

I am new to this particular forum, and would like some feedback on my next gun decision. I currently own and carry, when necessary (not often at all), a Glock 33, the subcompact .357 sig model. I am an average sized male, and I still have a hard time truly concealing the Glock. While perusing my next purchase I became interested in the Ruger LCP. I mainly like the gun due to its size, the fact I can pocket carry it when needed, and the price. However, with Ruger releasing the LC9, here soon or just recently, I would like some feedback on what the forum believes would be a better choice. Ruger claims the LC9 is less than an inch larger in length and height. Do you all consider that marginal size difference would hinder the pistols ability to be pocket carried without being noticeable? I guess the other arguments come down to the 9mm vs. .380 and the recoil in a small frame pistol argument.

For the owners of the LCP, what are your thoughts on the pistol? Propensity to jam? Modifiability? Pros? Cons?

Thanks
Old February 11, 2011, 12:31 AM   #2
Rembart

SWR,