The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11, 2017, 11:38 PM   #1
Jeryray
Member
 
Join Date: December 29, 2016
Location: NY Area
Posts: 48
650 machinist Feature request

Would it be possible to have a pilot holes in the shell plate (part that rotates) so you can visibly see if there is a primer coming?

I would guess a hole with a plastic insert.

Make any sense?
Jeryray is offline  
Old January 11, 2017, 11:54 PM   #2
JeepHammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 27, 2015
Posts: 884
I guess anything is possible...

A LOT of stress on that shell plate (in other positions) to be drilling it full of holes...
__________________
Information found on the 'Internet' is worth EXACTLY what you paid for it...
Everyone on the internet is an 'Expert'.
JeepHammer is offline  
Old January 12, 2017, 07:14 AM   #3
jmorris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Posts: 2,462
The 650 happens to be the only machine you can visibly check easily from the factory. Just keep your eye on the primer disk, IME there is always one after the other, every time, all the time, no matter what. Unless you have emptied out the system and just started loading.

If that is the case, this is why the station #2 retainer is spring loaded. After you have sized a case and it is at #2, slightly raise the ram and manually index the primer index by hand until there is a primer on top of the punch, reinstall the case and get to loading.
jmorris is offline  
Old January 12, 2017, 12:11 PM   #4
Jeryray
Member
 
Join Date: December 29, 2016
Location: NY Area
Posts: 48
I don't see a ready to spin primer?

I ask because once in a while I get a round without a primer installed.
Jeryray is offline  
Old January 12, 2017, 12:33 PM   #5
Unclenick
Staff
 
Join Date: March 4, 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 12,980
Call Dillon and have them walk you through checking alignment of all the parts and the feed tube.
__________________
Gunsite Orange Hat Family Member
CMP Certified GSM Master Instructor
NRA Certified Rifle Instructor
NRA Benefactor Member
Unclenick is offline  
Old January 12, 2017, 08:19 PM   #6
jmorris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 22, 2006
Posts: 2,462
Quote:
I ask because once in a while I get a round without a primer installed.
Does it dump one out the shoot, or is the disk failing to index?
jmorris is offline  
Old January 15, 2017, 01:55 AM   #7
Jeryray
Member
 
Join Date: December 29, 2016
Location: NY Area
Posts: 48
Nothing out the shoot. It has not happened in the last 300 rounds. Perhaps all the tweaking helped.
Jeryray is offline  
Old January 15, 2017, 09:12 AM   #8
JeepHammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 27, 2015
Posts: 884
Maybe wore a little snag or burr off...
I had a little brass burr from machining snagged in a crack between parts frustrating me.
Don't know if it came from Dillon or primers, frustrating until I tore the primer feed far enough down to find it.
Flawless operation since I found & removed it.

Now I have an issue with a pile of Winchester primers having burrs and being a little 'Oval'.
Have to weight down the follower to keep them feeding.

No issues with CCI primers in the slightest, feeds flawlessly.
__________________
Information found on the 'Internet' is worth EXACTLY what you paid for it...
Everyone on the internet is an 'Expert'.
JeepHammer is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2016 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.10887 seconds with 9 queries