The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 22, 2010, 06:54 AM   #1
milhornd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2010
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7
REmington 700 Varmint

I bought a 700 Varmint 223 cal. from Dick's and the problem I am having is it closes hard on the brass. It is removing a fair amount of brass from the rim on every round. I have checked the oal as well as the datum to case head length and they are both good. Should I look at replacing the ejector or any other thought as to what is causing the problem ? The gun shoots good just closes harrd on every round.
milhornd is offline  
Old December 22, 2010, 02:23 PM   #2
Scorch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 13, 2006
Location: Washington state
Posts: 11,427
Check the extractor groove for burrs and buildup. A burr will keep the extractor from snapping back out of the way when it clicks over the rim.
__________________
Never try to educate someone who resists knowledge at all costs.
But what do I know?
Summit Arms Services
Taylor Machine
Scorch is online now  
Old December 22, 2010, 04:35 PM   #3
milhornd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2010
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7
That is one of the things I thought about, will it destroy my extractor when I remove it to check ?
milhornd is offline  
Old December 23, 2010, 12:14 AM   #4
edward hogan
Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2007
Posts: 67
Dick's buys guns for a price from Remington.
If the rifle is new, take it back and show them the problems you're having.

You're shooting factory ammunition? Decent quality stuff like Win/USA , Rem, or Fed American Eagle?

If you are shooting handloads, you likely have a very short OAL chamber, a good thing, but maybe your ammo needs more sizing?

Since you say you can check the headspace, what do your unfired rounds measure in your gauge and what do they measure once removed? Have you looked for debris under the extractor? Does the ejector spring actually function? Never know, seems obvious but....

If the rifle was purchased recently, take it back and get them to replace the gun, or sell it and buy one from another dealer. If you want a fine .223, look at the Tikka T3 varmint with the 1:8 twist barrel, shoot heavy bullets in that one which your remington can't digest because of the slow twist... Maybe you can work a swap to your advantage.

Good luck!
edward hogan is offline  
Old December 29, 2010, 03:53 PM   #5
700cdl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 6, 2010
Posts: 216
Common issue

I own numerous 700s and have had the exact same problem when shooting factory ammo. or loading someone elses once fired brass without FL resizing it. My Son recently bought a brand new 700 CDL and bought 4 boxes of Winchester ammo. that absolutely would not chamber. I told him what I thought the problem was and he didn't agree until I tried to chamber the same ammo into my 7mm rem. magnums. If you check the recalls on ammunition you'll find that a whole lot of ammunition made by the most common manufacturers is constantly being recalled due to manufacturer defects in COAL, head to shoulder specs being out, bullet diameter +/- .002 or more, rim diameter and thickness and so on. Factory amunition is only made to an average that is intended to accomodate average chamber demensions anyway. Chambers are not exactly the same and one gun may do well with one box or brand, while another may not accept that same box or brand. This is why I hand load. Once you've fired a round through your gun the brass will take on the characteristics of that chamber. Even when hand loading I can't chamber a necked round from one gun into another of the same intended cartridge.
700cdl is offline  
Old December 30, 2010, 04:21 AM   #6
milhornd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2010
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 7
Thanks 700CDl
I reload all my ammo and have went over the things that you talk about. I have checked a fired round shoulder to head dimension and then bump my reloads back a couple thousandth and still have the same problem. I removed the extractor and checked for burs but none found. I bevieve the extractor angle or somethimg is wrong. I am going to order another extractor and see if that makes a difference.
milhornd is offline  
Old December 30, 2010, 08:16 AM   #7
SDLAW
Member
 
Join Date: January 7, 2006
Posts: 63
While you have the extractor out. polish the bolt face. They are often rough as hell and can be causing the problem you describe.
SDLAW is offline  
Old January 5, 2011, 02:49 PM   #8
wncchester
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 1, 2002
Posts: 2,832
I would expect roughness or tiny burrs inside the extractor groove recess to be more likely than on the extractor itself.
wncchester is offline  
Old January 5, 2011, 02:57 PM   #9
dahermit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 28, 2006
Location: South Central Michigan...near Ohio, Indiana.
Posts: 3,505
Does the fired casing extract normally?
dahermit is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08143 seconds with 7 queries