The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old December 18, 2010, 03:31 PM   #1
tostado22

M1A standard rebuild

Hey all,
You have probably seen some of my threads with questions about the M1A. Ive been sending alot of parts home, trying to get all match parts, to be installed when I come home on R&R.

So far I have a new handguard, Sadlack NM piston, Sadlack enlarged mag release, Fulton recoil pad, Sadlack spring guide and spring, NM gas cylinder and recoil buffer. In the future I will be getting a new stock, NM trigger job, then NM sights installed by Fulton Armory. Possibly an adj. gas plug but with the ammo I shoot it shouldnt be an issue. I would do the sight install myself but I dont want to get in too deep as Im fairly new to gunsmithing.

Basically this thread is too show off my weapon and also for anyone who had any advice/tips for this. It should be simple enough since the parts I have so far shouldnt require any fitting. This is mostly just putting new parts on an old rifle. I say old but dont know the exact history.

Its an SA Standard and appears to be in good shape. Im the 3rd owner. The previous owner didnt know the round count but had put a few hundred personally. He just didnt get to get out enough with it so decided to sell it. I havent used any guages on it (however I plan on ordering some today) to check the throat or muzzle but it has pretty good accuracy. I didnt get a chance to put many rounds through it before we deployed but it usually hit what I pointed at. Best way to describe it, I dont have an MOA measurement for it yet haha. Im going to check it all out when Im back home to make sure its all within spec. If not, then its off to get recrowned or whatever it may need. I expect it to be fine.