The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old October 25, 2010, 02:47 PM   #1
grubbylabs

Looking into casting

I have really enjoyed reloading and I am looking to casting as well.

I shoot

45 auto

44 mag

54 BP

What I think I want is to be able to hard cast for the 45 and the 44 but I am not sure about the others.

I have been thinking about the Lyman casting kit that comes with the press and furnace.

I have also been thinking about RCBS molds

So what do I need to know before I jump in and what are your thoughts on equipment, what is a wast of time and what is a good deal.

Nope, the old nag's still dead .
(Capt Charlie)
Old October 25, 2010, 06:04 PM   #2
reloader28

I love casting. I am no expert, but have learned enough that its basically all I shoot anymore. Unfortunatly, this week I'll have to site the 243's back in for jacketed hunting loads, but then they'll go right back to the cast loads again. This will be the first non-cast loads I've shot since last hunting season. 30-30's and 30-06's will stay with cast loads.

I have a 10lb Lee furnace, but am thinking of going to a Lyman or RCBS 20lb this winter. I think it would be better and stay more consistant.

I like all the Lee molds for pistols, but really like Seaco and RCBS and then Lyman in that order.

Just get you some clip on WW and melt them down. Thats all you need. If you want, you can put a little tin in it, but I never do except my 30 cal hunting boolits this year.

In my guns,
45 auto = shoots fine with a light-medium charge with plain WW alloy

44 mag = light chrges without a gas check
medium towards heavy charge with a gas check
heavy charge with a gas check and oven heat treated

308 = Aint done much with it yet, but I think my 150-30 SP RCBS would work good.