The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 13, 2005, 09:00 PM   #1
w4klr
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 280
M16 Parts + AR15 Receiver?

I know I know, this topic is probably taboo. I'm researching things between the AR15 and M16 for a class project. I've read about the DIAS and lightning link, but in theory, couldn't you just buy a stripped AR15 receiver, install m16 internals and bolt carrier and have an M16, even though it is uber illegal(not worth my 10yrs/250k)? When I say internals, I mean EVERYTHING, springs, trigger, selector, disconnecter... Input is much appreciated.
w4klr is offline  
Old February 13, 2005, 09:05 PM   #2
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
You would need to make some modifications to the receiver to allow it to accept the full auto parts.

HERE is a good comparison of the differences between the AR and M16.
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old February 13, 2005, 09:36 PM   #3
PMDW
Member
 
Join Date: September 14, 2004
Posts: 39
Quote:
You would need to make some modifications to the receiver to allow it to accept the full auto parts.
Unless you had a DIAS.
PMDW is offline  
Old February 13, 2005, 10:03 PM   #4
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
Not what he asked.

Quote:
Unless you had a DIAS.
..

Quote:
but in theory, couldn't you just buy a stripped AR15 receiver, install m16 internals and bolt carrier and have an M16, even though it is uber illegal(not worth my 10yrs/250k)? When I say internals, I mean EVERYTHING, springs, trigger, selector, disconnecter...
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old February 13, 2005, 10:13 PM   #5
PMDW
Member
 
Join Date: September 14, 2004
Posts: 39
That is true, to convert it to a factory spec M16 it would take some machining. But it will take full auto parts with no work to the receiver, assuming you have a DIAS, which I will point out, IS a "full auto part".
PMDW is offline  
Old February 14, 2005, 01:53 PM   #6
w4klr
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 280
Now for the DIAS...

So are modern non-Colt/Armalite AR-15s unblocked, and could use the DIAS?
w4klr is offline  
Old February 14, 2005, 06:08 PM   #7
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
The DIAS along with a M16 bolt carrier, hammer, selector, and disconnector will convert an AR-15 to full auto without any modifications to the receiver.

To install all of the actual M16 full auto parts into an AR-15 receiver (ie converting the AR into an actual M16), the receiver would need to be modified for them to fit.
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old February 14, 2005, 06:18 PM   #8
PMDW
Member
 
Join Date: September 14, 2004
Posts: 39
I never said it wouldn't.
PMDW is offline  
Old February 14, 2005, 07:10 PM   #9
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
PMDW,

That was in response to his question about newer receivers being able to accept a DIAS, not your previous comment.
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old February 14, 2005, 10:34 PM   #10
w4klr
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 22, 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 280
Last question..

And with the m16 parts + dias, does that allow selective and full auto capability, or full auto only.
w4klr is offline  
Old February 14, 2005, 11:18 PM   #11
Casp_A
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 12, 2004
Posts: 495
Looks like it should duplicate the fuctionality of an original M-16 group, both semi- and full-auto. Unless you disclude the disconnector, though that would be kinda stupid.

Now I have a question: anyone have a link to something showing how a 3-round-burst mechanism is set up/works? I have a general idea, but I'm curious as to how they do it in something like an M-16/M-4.
__________________
Johnny was a chemist's son, but Johnny is no more. What Johnny thought was H2O was H2SO4.
Casp_A is offline  
Old February 15, 2005, 11:59 AM   #12
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
The M4 uses one of the worst methods of achieving 3-round bursts in existence. It uses a ratchet that ends up giving different trigger pulls for each position. The HK version is far superior.

Diagram is in tm9-1005-319-23.pdf starting on page 3-88.
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old February 18, 2005, 07:57 PM   #13
abelew
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 29, 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 778
Yes bad trigger, but if your using 3 round burst, do you really need long range accuracy?
__________________
"Where the choice is between only violence and cowardice, I would advise violence."
~ Mohatma Gandhi
abelew is offline  
Old February 19, 2005, 06:38 AM   #14
fal308
Staff Alumnus
 
Join Date: October 12, 1998
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,986
Abelew,
The three round burst in the 16 is bad not b/c of the accuracy but b/c it is not resetable. That is if you only fire one round of the burst, the next trigger pull will only fire two rounds then reset. Or if you fire two rounds of the burst, then the next trigger pull will only fire the single remaining round of the burst then reset. The HK version will fire the full burst every time.
fal308 is offline  
Old September 16, 2010, 06:53 PM   #15
jclark1892
Junior Member
 
Join Date: September 16, 2010
Posts: 2
Is it possible to mate an AR15 lower with an M16 parts kit?
jclark1892 is offline  
Old September 17, 2010, 07:51 AM   #16
Skans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 20, 2008
Posts: 7,785
Jclark - it is illegal to do so - will make the gun a machinegun, even if you don't add all of the M16 parts - even if it doesn't fire full-auto. The only M16 part you can safely use in an AR15 is the bolt carrier. At least one M16 part can't be added without machining - perhaps more, depending on what AR15 receiver is used.

Not sure why this thread from 2005 was resurrected?
Skans is offline  
Old September 17, 2010, 08:34 AM   #17
demigod
Junior member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,129
There is an actual case of this where the guy got prison time. There was a goofball in Wisconsin who put one of those A2 burst lower parts kits in a piece of sh1t Olyimpic Arms rifle.

This guy was a self appointed "Mr. Helper". He loaned this gun out to someone and told the kid not to flip the selector to the auto position. Naturally the guy flipped it to auto and ended up getting some full auto fire. He did this at the range, and it ended up getting reported to authorities who investigated.

In the end, ATF nailed the guy because the gun would fire MORE than ONE round per pull of the trigger. It didn't matter what parts he had. It boiled down to the ATF getting it to fire full auto.... and it infact did.

The guy took his claim that it was a malfuction and paraded it all over AR15.com, but when you have an A2 fire control group installed, that story isn't really holding water.
demigod is offline  
Old September 17, 2010, 05:58 PM   #18
Hkmp5sd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: Winter Haven, Florida
Posts: 4,303
Zombie thread resurrection and duplicate of current thread by same person at http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=423395
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Personal Protection, Range Safety Officer

NRA Life Member
Hkmp5sd is offline  
Old September 21, 2010, 09:28 PM   #19
threecharley
Junior member
 
Join Date: September 21, 2010
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 70
Not trying to be a smart azz but atf told me that as long as it doesn't have any hole and isn't converted to select fire you CAN have m16 parts in a semi gun. like a m16 full auto bcg and so on! i heard this from Al Lamburger ATF inspector.
threecharley is offline  
Old September 21, 2010, 10:41 PM   #20
Ridge_Runner_5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 8, 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,872
Bolt carrier group is fine. But trigger components is walking a fine line, and if the ATF takes you to court, they could argue you were attempting to manufacture an illegal machine gun....
Ridge_Runner_5 is offline  
Old September 21, 2010, 11:29 PM   #21
threecharley
Junior member
 
Join Date: September 21, 2010
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 70
very true and i really don't think its worth the risk. jmho
threecharley is offline  
Old September 22, 2010, 08:56 AM   #22
demigod
Junior member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,129
Quote:
And with the m16 parts + dias, does that allow selective and full auto capability, or full auto only.
It looks like your question got overlooked.

With a DIAS, you still have semi and full auto selectability. It doesn't work exactly like a true M16 because the selector doesn't disengage the auto sear in a DIAS like it does on an M16. But the disconnector works like normal, and thus you get semi auto function too.
demigod is offline  
Old September 22, 2010, 05:53 PM   #23
Skans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 20, 2008
Posts: 7,785
I believe that if you install the FA trigger group in an AR and the FA selector switch, it can potentially slam-fire and doubble. That's a no-no.
Skans is offline  
Old September 23, 2010, 09:00 AM   #24
demigod
Junior member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,129
It will fire in full auto with the selector in the third position... not reliably, but it will work. The problem is there's no sear to regulate the hammer so you end up with the hammer down on a live round.

This is what happened to the Wisconsin idiot. He had everything but the sear installed. It worked just enough to get him popped for an illegal transfer of a machine gun.
demigod is offline  
Old September 24, 2010, 06:14 AM   #25
David Hineline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 23, 1999
Location: South Sioux City, Nebraska
Posts: 704
Some semi auto receivers are blocked so the DIAS or Link conversion will not fit.
David Hineline is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.12204 seconds with 9 queries