The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 31, 2010, 12:35 AM   #1
rimfire78
Member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25
California legislators at it again - act now

For those of you who might be in California;
Final vote Tuesday: AB1810, AB1934, and AB2358

ACTION NEEDED (TONIGHT AND TOMORROW):

Both bills just FAILED the seventh vote

AB1810 - 18 yes. 18 - no
AB1934- 20 yes 17 - no

There have both been granted "reconsideration" for being taken up on the Senate floor again on Tuesday the last day of session

Please call and THANK ALL of the Republicans and the following Dems

Correa
Ducheny
Florez
Negrete McLeod
Wright
For voting against AB1810

And ask Florez and Ducheny to vote NO on AB1934

ALSO: <<<Critical assistance needed>>>
Please CALL and FAX Senator Gloria Negrete McLeod and THANK HER for her votes AND politely ask her to continue to oppose these bills. Phone: (916) 651-4032 Fax: (916) 445-0128

Here is the Democrat list
Alquist, Elaine (916) 651-4013 Senator.Alquist@senate.ca.gov
Calderon, Ron (916) 651-4030 Senator.Calderon@senate.ca.gov
Cedillo, Gilbert (916) 651-4022 Senator.Cedillo@senate.ca.gov
Corbett, Ellen (916) 651-4010 Senator.Corbett@senate.ca.gov
Correa, Lou (916) 651-4034
Senator.Correa@senate.ca.gov
DeSaulnier, Mark (916) 651-4007 Senator.DeSaulnier@senate.ca.gov
Ducheny, Denise Moreno (916) 651-4040 Senator.Ducheny@senate.ca.gov
Florez, Dean (916) 651-4016 Senator.Florez@senate.ca.gov
Hancock, Loni (916) 651-4009 Senator.Hancock@senate.ca.gov
Kehoe, Christine (916) 651-4039 Senator.Kehoe@senate.ca.gov
Leno, Mark (916) 651-4003 Senator.Leno@senate.ca.gov
Liu, Carol (916) 651-4021 Senator.Liu@senate.ca.gov
Lowenthal, Alan S.(916) 651-4027 Senator.Lowenthal@senate.ca.gov
Negrete McLeod, Gloria (916) 651-4032 Senator.Negrete@senate.ca.gov
Oropeza, Jenny (916) 651-4028 Senator.Oropeza@senate.ca.gov
Padilla, Alex (916) 651-4020 Senator.Padilla@senate.ca.gov
Pavley, Fran (916) 651-4023 Senator.Pavley@senate.ca.gov
Price, Curren (916) 651-4026 Senator.Price@senate.ca.gov
Romero, Gloria (916) 651-4024 Senator.Romero@senate.ca.gov
Simitian, Joe (916) 651-4011 Senator.Simitian@senate.ca.gov
Steinberg, Darrell (916) 651-4006 Senator.Steinberg@senate.ca.gov
Wiggins, Patricia (916) 651-4002 Senator.Wiggins@senate.ca.gov
Wolk, Lois (916) 651-4005 Senator.Wolk@senate.ca.gov
Wright, Roderick (916) 651-4025 Senator.Wright@senate.ca.gov
Yee, Leland (916) 651-4008 Senator.Yee@senate.ca.gov
rimfire78 is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 12:41 AM   #2
LanceOregon
Junior member
 
Join Date: May 10, 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,774
Are these bad laws??
LanceOregon is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 12:50 AM   #3
maestro pistolero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 16, 2007
Posts: 2,068
Yes, they are bad laws.
maestro pistolero is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 12:51 AM   #4
rimfire78
Member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25
AB1934 will ban unloaded open carry in California (which is all we've got because in most places, ccw permits are only issued by the sheriff's discretion)

AB1810 is a long gun registration bill

AB2358 Bans internet sales of ammunition and requires retailers to fingerprint and register ammo purchasers. Record caliber and quantity and send this info to the DOJ who can hold it in perpetuity.
rimfire78 is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 08:01 AM   #5
BlueTrain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 26, 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,825
Don't you hate representative democracy?
__________________
Shoot low, sheriff. They're riding Shetlands!
Underneath the starry flag, civilize 'em with a Krag,
and return us to our own beloved homes!
Buy War Bonds.
BlueTrain is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 09:46 AM   #6
rimfire78
Member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25
Bump
rimfire78 is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 09:54 AM   #7
jmortimer
Junior member
 
Join Date: January 24, 2010
Location: South West Riverside County California
Posts: 2,763
Kalifornia just blows. It's not enough that they bankrupted the state but to keep passing stupid gun law after stupid gun law hurts bad. Also, it hurts when most of "Real America" is moving in the opposite direction. Let's hope Novmber elections make some small change here in the right direction - the "Dumbanator" has not been good on Second Amendment issues. Thanks for the post and specific information. We sure need more right thinking people in "Suckramento."
jmortimer is offline  
Old August 31, 2010, 10:18 AM   #8
BlueTrain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 26, 2005
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,825
Right now you're probably wondering if I'm a real American, a "true" American or not.
__________________
Shoot low, sheriff. They're riding Shetlands!
Underneath the starry flag, civilize 'em with a Krag,
and return us to our own beloved homes!
Buy War Bonds.
BlueTrain is offline  
Old September 1, 2010, 06:08 AM   #9
roy reali
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2005
Posts: 3,248
Why?

I hope you Californians get out of this one. However, it is almost silly for the Golden State to pass more gun restrictions. With the way the economy is going there, no one will be able to afford to buy guns or shoot. That seems to be the most effective gun control I can think of.
roy reali is offline  
Old September 1, 2010, 07:54 AM   #10
Al Norris
Staff
 
Join Date: June 29, 2000
Location: Rupert, Idaho
Posts: 9,298
Late Breaking News!

All three anti-gun bills (AB1810, AB2358, and AB1934) Fail! Congratulations are in order for all the good people in the CRPA, NRA, CalGuns Foundation and CalGuns.net who worked to defeat these bills.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn...090100612.html
__________________
National listings of the Current 2A Cases.
Al Norris is offline  
Old September 1, 2010, 08:15 AM   #11
CowTowner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 17, 2007
Location: Cowtown of course!
Posts: 1,117
I only see where two failed, AB1934 and AB1810. Where does the article mention the third?
__________________
NRA Chief Range Safety Officer, Home Firearm Safety and Pistol Instructor
"There are three classes of people: those who see, those who see when they are shown, those who do not see."
Leonardo da Vinci
CowTowner is offline  
Old September 1, 2010, 12:44 PM   #12
maestro pistolero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 16, 2007
Posts: 2,068
The article may not mention it, but the ammo registration bill, the long gun registration bill, and the unloaded open carry ban all failed at the end of the term.

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/s...d.php?t=337925
maestro pistolero is offline  
Old September 1, 2010, 07:31 PM   #13
RETG
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 22, 2009
Location: Southeastern Utah
Posts: 247
Wow...if CA legislators spent as much time trying to balance their budget than they do trying to screw gun owners, they would have a 62 billion dollar surplus instead of a deficit.
RETG is offline  
Old September 5, 2010, 09:50 AM   #14
Spartan23
Member
 
Join Date: November 23, 2009
Location: Athens, Hellas
Posts: 75
California does it again?

Oh, com' on! Isn't against the Constitution to do that?
Who vote those guys anyway?
Spartan23 is offline  
Old September 7, 2010, 01:47 PM   #15
ADB
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 28, 2009
Posts: 399
Quote:
"Real America" is moving in the opposite direction.
"Real America"? I'm sure that the 37 million people in California will be surprised to hear that their citizenship has been revoked. I live in New York. How's my citizenship?
ADB is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.10970 seconds with 7 queries