The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old August 21, 2010, 12:28 PM   #1
Oldjarhead

lubrication on lever action rifles

I am new to lever action rifles. I have a Cimarron Arms 1892 rifle on order. Do you lube with just gun oil, or is gun grease needed say on the bolt or anywhere else? Thanks.
Old August 21, 2010, 12:44 PM   #2
nathaniel

On my Puma M92 and Winchester 94 I use RemOil. I havent had a problem yet. Dad and Grandpa always used Hoppes gun oil. But then again I'm not an Expert.
Old August 21, 2010, 01:27 PM   #3
rtpzwms

You might want to check on youtube.com there are a LOT of good videos there.
Old August 21, 2010, 09:55 PM   #4
jrothWA

A light touch of grease on the...

sliding vertical lugs be nice.

bought a 336 and detailed it, took a stone to some parts, cleaned relubed with white lithium gease.

Just uses the fore-finger to operate the action, NOW!
Old August 22, 2010, 01:14 AM   #5
Win_94

You may have already guessed, I have a Win 94 in 30-30. It was my first center fire rifle, I bought it new about 28 years ago. I oil every inch of it with whatever motor oil is in the garage at the time. Right now I'm using AutoZone 5w30.

I shoot it about every week, (sometimes every day,) it shoots like a dream and has never malfunctioned.

Just so you know...
I'll run a dry patch down the bore and another in the chamber before firing.

Last edited by Win_94; August 22, 2010 at 01:16 AM. Reason: my punctuation made a smiley
Old August 22, 2010, 01:20 AM   #6
BfloBill

I have a Marlin 1895. Have had no problems just using Breakfree CLP. But the grease idea sounds good and I plan to try it and see how much of a difference it makes.
Old August 22, 2010, 09:49 AM   #7
DanB

On my lever guns I oil the bolt(Hoppes gun Oil) and put grease(standard gun grease nothing special) on the contact/friction points on the lever. works for me. YMMV
Old August 22, 2010, 03:41 PM   #8
hooligan1