The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old July 4, 2010, 05:01 PM   #1
daisey53

S&W J-K-L-N Frame Descriptions/Pictures?

On the S&W Revolver frame types can someone send me to a web site with pictures of these frames? I'm new to revolvers and do not know what the J-K-L &N demarkations actually look like and I'm trying to educate myself on these frames. Thanks...
Old July 4, 2010, 05:16 PM   #2
dahermit

You may have difficulty determining the difference in frame sizes with a single gun in the picture. You would need to know how big a particular frame size was and compare it to the rest. "J" is the smallest of the ones you listed and "N" is the largest. There is however, a new larger frame size to accommodate the very large new pistol cartridges. You would be better off going into a gun store and saying, "show me a J frame smith. Now show me an K frame", etc.
Old July 4, 2010, 05:20 PM   #3
langenc

Dont do that at Guns Galore most days!
Old July 4, 2010, 06:06 PM   #4
brian45auto

N large frame, counterbored .357, model 28-2
L medium frame, non counter bored .357, model 581-1m
K small frame, counter bored .357, model 13-1

the L frame is a slightly larger pistol than the K, but uses a K frame sized grip.
so those grips interchange with each other.
the sizes are hard to show in pictures, but easy to see and feel in person.
these cylinder pictures do a pretty good job of showing a difference.
the counter boring might mess the idea of the images a little.

Last edited by brian45auto; October 24, 2010 at 07:59 AM.
Old July 4, 2010, 06:28 PM   #5
daisey53