The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old June 15, 2010, 06:56 PM   #1
Randallpink

Price Question: Winchester model 70 featherweight .270 WSM

I will be needing a rifle for the upcoming PA deer season. I am set on a .270 WSM and have found the above mentioned rifle for $550 used at 95 percent condition. Should I jump on this deal? I have no experience with Winchester but the Model 70 is almost legendary to many people who's opinions I trust. Suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Old June 15, 2010, 07:59 PM   #2
mikejonestkd

The model 70 has varied greatly in quality over the decades, from outstanding to average, and the more recent ones ( just before they closed the New Haven, Ct factory doors a few years ago - 2006? ) were not anything that I would be proud to own. I have heard great things about the newer ones ( made in S.C. by FN/ Herstal) though. Any idea on where and when it was made? $550 looks to be a good price, based on gunbroker.com

Last edited by mikejonestkd; June 15, 2010 at 08:19 PM.
Old June 15, 2010, 08:05 PM   #3
kraigwy

Any Model 70, in any kind of diecent shape at all is worth $550, I'd jump on it.

Don't be scared away with the Post 64 BS, they are dern good rifles. I have two target rifles built on post 64 winchesters, they are some great shooters.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old June 15, 2010, 09:23 PM   #4
crghss

I have a Winchester 70 circa 1980. Great gun, like it a lot. If yours is one of the newer ones made in S.C. by FN/ Herstal I would think it's steal, jump on it. If it's an earlier model I'd say it's a good price. As mentioned look on Gunbroker.com or gunsamerica.com to get a idea of price.

The .270 wsm is good caliber but it is expensive to shoot but I'm sure you know that.

Since you found a rifle in caliber that you want but thats not very common I think this should give you some leverage in negotiating a better price.
Old June 15, 2010, 09:58 PM   #5