|June 12, 2010, 12:05 AM||#1|
Join Date: November 5, 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Private transfers in WA, question regarding Driver License
Hello everyone, need a little info, or links, or sources regarding a private transfer of a handgun.
I have a friend who I want to sell a gun to, privately. I am familiar with the private transfer laws, however, my friend does not have a WA state driver license. He has been a WA resident for well over 90 days. To throw in another kink, he is over 18, but under 21.
Can I transfer a firearm to him seeing that he does not have a WA Driver License?? I am 100% sure he is not ineligible to possess under the appropriate RCW laws.
Anyone have any insight, I cannot seem to find anything in the RCW laws.
VIGILIA PRETIUM LIBERTATIS
"The price of liberty is vigilance"
America is at an awkward stage. It's too late to work within the system, but too early to shoot the bastards.
|June 12, 2010, 12:39 AM||#2|
Join Date: January 1, 2006
Location: Brookville, PA
It looks like WA's law requires some sort of verified or recorded transfer. Of which he need a valid WA ID of some sort.
While possession appears to be legal for those 18yo or older, the FFL will not be able to deliver a handgun to the buyer because the FFL will have to add the gun to his bound book under federal law. And once on the bound book the FFL cannot transfer the gun to someone under 21 years old.
My spidey senses tell me that private transfer will be a futile effort.
|June 12, 2010, 08:00 AM||#3|
Join Date: July 31, 2009
I believe the notification law only applies to dealers not friend-to-friend, even in the case of dealer sales a DL is not required only 90 days of residency, the waiting period is extended if no official ID but a sale is still possible under state law.
It is always tough to determine things that are allowed by a state since they generally only have things disallowed in the statutes. In VA there is no law saying open carry is legal, but there is also no law saying it is not.
If the gun is a handgun, the buyer's use of it is restricted.
|June 13, 2010, 12:51 AM||#4|
Join Date: January 25, 2006
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
1. If the buyer is present in WA with the intent of making WA a home, the buyer is a resident of WA for the purposes of firearms transactions. That is 27 CFR 478.11.
2. There is no "verified or recorded" transfer in WA for private transactions. The two parties can file a Pistol Transfer Form with the state, if they choose too. Why they would choose to is beyond me. The state maintains a registration database of handguns purchased from FFLs, but that registration is NOT required for private transactions.
Here is the form:
Notice the bold and highlighted word "VOLUNTARY" on the form itself. It is not required and certainly not recommended.
3. There is no 90 day residency requirement to purchase a handgun from an FFL or from a private party in Washington.
4. 18 to 20 year olds are NOT prohibited from purchasing firearms, including handguns, from private parties in WA. They are prohibited from carrying those handguns in public for self defense.
5. Also, if your friend happens to be a military member, he also is deemed a WA state resident if he has permanent duty station orders to Washington State.
Last edited by NavyLT; June 13, 2010 at 12:57 AM.
|age , rcw , transfer , washington|
|Thread Tools||Search this Thread|