The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old June 1, 2010, 08:06 AM   #1
Shoes

Marlin 795 trigger job

I have tried the search function, but I didn't find what I was looking for. (computer challenged).

QUESTION: Is there any good/current info on reducing the trigger pull on the Marlin 795 auto-loader 22lr?? I have little or no experience in modifying weapons so rest assured, I will digest the info to see if it is over my head. If so, I'll be finding a good g-smith to do the work.

Rifle Basix doesn't work on auto-loaders to my knowlege.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.... Shoes
Old June 1, 2010, 12:38 PM   #2
hammie

I hate to suggest other forums because, hands down, the firing line, the staff and moderators, the users here, and the depth of knowledge are the best! Plus, the firing line should always be first in your heart. However for something this specialized, you may want to try RimfireCentral.com. They have a subsection on the marlin 60, and if you join, you can use the "search" feature.
Old June 1, 2010, 01:00 PM   #3
azredhawk44

When you break down the rifle, you end up with a few components:
1. Stock
2. Trigger group (literally a plastic trigger, a pin retaining it, and a return spring coiled around the pin)
3. Hammer/sear assembly (the complicated guts)
4. Bolt assembly
5. Receiver and barrel

The biggest tuning benefits come from two assemblies: The hammer/sear assembly, and the trigger group. The hammer/sear assembly is complicated, so we'll leave it alone.

The trigger group is a bone-dumb simple mechanism. Let's do what we can with that.

First task: The trigger link. The curved surface of the trigger where your finger touches is fine, let's leave that alone. But the part of the trigger that reaches up into the guts and pushes on the sear is usually too short on the forward face of it. This introduces trigger creep.