The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old February 15, 2010, 11:45 PM   #1
-sro-

length of barrel on shotguns?

Hi all!

I am wondering what the differences in barrel length in shotguns equate to. I would think that a longer barrel will give a tighter pattern than a slightly shorter barrel would at the same range. Is this true?

I would also like to specifically talk about the difference in 26" compared to 28" as well as the applications of a 20" barrel. (I am considering a coach gun and would like to do some hunting with it.)

and finally I am wondering how chokes play into this.

Post up!
Old February 16, 2010, 12:11 AM   #2
jp_over

accd to browning you gain no pattern performance past 26" but you might like longer for balance. i believe you might gain some velocity with a longer barrel however though i'm no expert. when in doubt, call the manf.
Old February 16, 2010, 12:15 AM   #3
the rifleer

The length of a shotgun barrel is mostly personal preference. The shot in the barrel will reach is maximum velocity after traveling about 15-18'' in the barrel.

A longer barrel is used mostly for hunting and shooting clays because it give the shotgun a better "swing" and for most people is easier to shoot with.

I personally do not like long barrels and prefer a shorter barrel. i often shoot multiple clay targets and the shorter barrel allows me to switch to a new target faster, but at the cost of accuracy. I have a 26'' barrel and a 18.5'' barrel for my mossberg 500 20 gauge. I shoot better with a 26'' barrel when shooting clays because the barrel has a choke. the 18.5'' does not and therefore has a very wide pattern.

If my 18.5'' barrel had a choke in it, it would pattern similarly to my longer 26'' barrel. The pattern is determined mostly by the choke.