The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 10, 2010, 06:51 PM   #1
Wallabing
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 6, 2009
Posts: 109
Removing 870 receiver stud

Anybody know how to accomplish this monumental task? It's near impossible to get the darn thing to budge and turn.
Wallabing is offline  
Old February 10, 2010, 07:55 PM   #2
Goatwhiskers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 8, 2009
Location: Batchelor, La.
Posts: 471
Silver soldered in place. Might be high strength loc-tite. Why would you want to remove it? Goatwhiskers

Last edited by Goatwhiskers; February 10, 2010 at 09:09 PM.
Goatwhiskers is offline  
Old February 10, 2010, 10:29 PM   #3
Dfariswheel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 4, 2001
Posts: 6,830
The receiver stud is partially staked in place.

It can be removed with a socket set, which supports things better than a single wrench, but its kind of scary since it feels like its going to strip.
Another trick is to use TWO wrenches, one on each side so its in a "tee" handle-like arrangement. This prevents binding.
Unless you absolutely have no choice, leave it in place.

To remove, back it out slightly, put some lube on the threads, then back in, then out a little more. Keep adding a little lube as it comes out and keep backing it in and out.
This will help "iron out" the staking and help prevent stripping the receiver.
Dfariswheel is offline  
Old February 11, 2010, 02:47 AM   #4
Wallabing
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 6, 2009
Posts: 109
I was stupid and I overtorqued the stock screw, somewhat damaging the threads in the receiver stud.
Wallabing is offline  
Old February 11, 2010, 02:55 AM   #5
colostomyclown
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 22, 2009
Posts: 613
I would not have done this if I were you. Farthest I go with an 870 is taking out the bolt and trig assembly/elevator.
colostomyclown is offline  
Old February 11, 2010, 03:07 AM   #6
Wallabing
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 6, 2009
Posts: 109
I changed the stock because the original old wooden one was old and moldy looking, and I swapped it for a hogue stock.
Wallabing is offline  
Old February 11, 2010, 07:45 AM   #7
Icopy1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 1, 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 415
A socket set worked for me, when I had to change it out to switch to a Sage Internationl stock. I used a rubber mallet to give the wrench some extra power.
Icopy1 is offline  
Old February 11, 2010, 08:39 AM   #8
Lee Lapin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 7, 2004
Location: SE NC
Posts: 1,238
Can you get the threads chased with a tap set? A local gunsmith or machine shop might have the appropriate taps on hand. That might be enough to clean the threads back up to the point the original stud can still be used.

Sorry to hear you had problems with it, hope it works out OK.

lpl
__________________
Mindset - Skillset - Toolset. In that order!

Attitude and skill will get you through times of no gear, better than gear will get you through times of no attitude and no skill.
Lee Lapin is offline  
Old February 11, 2010, 03:54 PM   #9
MAX100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 28, 2008
Location: SC- at the GUN-CONNECTION
Posts: 364
The stock bolt/receiver stud thread size 1/4"-28. It's a common size so most hardware stores should carry a tap in that size.

GC
__________________
==GUN CONNECTION==
GunConnect@prtcnet.com
MAX100 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08736 seconds with 9 queries