The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old January 20, 2010, 04:16 PM   #1
Rotting

What is the 44 magnum good for?

Forgive me if this question is amateurish, as I am BRAND new to handguns in general.

I have always had this lurking fascination with the 44 magnum (Dirty Harry, etc.) and I just got into guns and said to myself "I'm gonna get a S&W 44 magnum handgun". I can shoot 44 specials through it too, so that may help in answering my questions.

However, after doing a lot of research, I see a lot of talk on the forums about how a 44 magnum is NOT a good personal defense weapon as the round will most likely go right through a human, and therefore "waste" the bullet's energy. For personal defense, 40 and 45 are talked about as the "just right" zone.

Now, I've seen a lot of threads also extolling the virtues of 44 magnum as a good hunting round. However, the gun that I am interested in (a 3" carry comp) is not what most people would term a "hunting gun". Plus, I don't hunt at all. So, other than having fun at the range, what is this gun good for?

Don't get me wrong, I'm sure a 44 magnum would have a pretty.....adverse effect on someone that I shot with it, but my bigger question is: Why would anyone choose a 3" 44 magnum revolver other than for the fun of shooting it? (Which, by the way, is just FINE for me--just curious as the the theory behind this gun).

Another way of looking at it is: Which ammo suitable for this gun would you use and in what situation? 44M hollow point? 44M Soft nose? 44 Special Hollow? 44 Special Softnose? etc etc.

Thanks for helping this beginner out!
Old January 20, 2010, 04:29 PM   #2
azredhawk44

OK, lots of ground to cover here, but I'll give it a try:

Let's ignore the actual GUN and just focus on the cartridge.

.44 magnum.