The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old January 12, 2010, 02:56 PM   #1
nodamidis

Snap Caps - What are they and how do I use them?

I received a handgun for Christmas. One of my friends, who knew about the gift, gave me a package of snap caps. I understand that you use snap caps to practice trigger pulls by dry firing and loading magazines. I am very anxious to try them out, but I have been reluctant to do so because I don't know what will happen when I put one in the chamber and pull the trigger. I am assuming that there is no gun powder or propellant so I won't blow a hole in my bedroom wall, but can someone tell me what to expect. Also, how can I remove the snap cap from the chamber? Will it eject after I pull the trigger?

Sorry for the stupid sounding question, but I am very new to guns and shooting, and I want to be super cautious about everything I do with the gun.
Old January 12, 2010, 03:15 PM   #2
ZeSpectre

If you could tell us what brand of snap cap and what type of firearm (pistol or revolver) we could probably give you more specific details.

In terms of a general definition...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snap_cap
Quote:
A snap cap is a device which appears similar to a standard firearm cartridge but contains no primer or projectile and is used to dry fire the weapon. Snap caps usually contain a spring-dampened false primer which absorbs the force from the firing pin allowing you to safely test-fire the gun without damaging the components.

Rimfire weapons, and some centerfire weapons of older design should never be test-fired with the chamber empty as this leads to weakening and possible breakage of the firing pin and increased wear to other components. In the instance of a rimfire weapon, "dry firing" can also cause deformation of the chamber edge. For this reason many shooters use a snap cap to cushion the weapon's firing pin as it moves forward.