The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old November 16, 2009, 06:34 PM   #1
mhdick

270 vs 270wsm accuracy?

I'm considering a new gun. I mainly shoot whitetail & mule deer, but won't rule out yotes. not likely to shoot elk, but would like to in the future.
What do you all think about the accuracy of either caliber? is one generally more accurate or not really. thanks.
i hunt Nebraska & KS and shots could present up to 400+ on deer up to 250 lbs (some big mulies in western KS).
i am just getting into reloading also, if this influences the answer.
thanks in advance
Old November 16, 2009, 08:08 PM   #2
GeauxTide

Go with a 24" barreled 270Win

If you're just getting into loading, mahvelous. Welcome to a wonderous adventure. The 270 Win will give you all you need and then some. The components and ammo are much less expensive. Forget the marketing, you will get about 100fps in head to head chronographed velocites with 130gr bullets in 24" barrels. If you want a real magnum, get a 270 Weatherby. You'll get an honest 200fps over the Win. Accuracy? Haven't heard of any .277s that weren't shooters.
Old November 16, 2009, 08:17 PM   #3
matt_3479

a 270. win will do everything you need and more. But 400 yards are long shots and you had better practice. My dad has hunted everything with his 270.win from coyotes out to 350 yards, whitetail out to 300 yards, caribou as close as 40 yards, moose around 100 yards and black bear as far as 250 yards. Now he mainly hunts moose and this is the biggest caliber he has ever owned. Everyone he hunts with tells him its to small yet he has taken 5 moose with the biggest being 950 pounds. so it will work on whitetail. If you want something with power, flat trajectory, good stopping power the 270. win is it, if you really want to step it up look at the 7mm rem mag
Old November 16, 2009, 08:44 PM   #4
bcarver

why?

Why the .277 caliber? Why not the .284 caliber?