The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old August 6, 2009, 10:34 PM   #1
johnw63

357 Magnum: Colt Python v. S&W 686 Plus

So I've decided to go with a 357 Mag combo lever action rifle and pistol. I've decided on the lever action: Marlin 1894C and am debating between a used Colt Python or a new S&W 686 Plus, both in Stainless Steel with 4" barrels. I've held them both and dry fired them both and like them both. The Used Python is a pretty good deal at my local dealer's place compared to what I been following on GB, but I can still get a new 686 Plus for around $300 less. I like the fact that the Plus carries 7 shots to the Python's 6. But the Python is Python! Can I really go wrong with either? Is the Python really worth that much more than the 686 Plus? Will the Python hold value that much better than a 686?

Any thoughts and feedback are welcome. Thanks.
Old August 6, 2009, 11:54 PM   #2
Sevens

I'm no expert on either... but I'm "first on the scene" here, so I'll offer thoughts.

The two guns will have "value" for drastically different reasons. The S&W will have value because of the reputation for quality from S&W and the demand that a good L-frame Smith always has as a shooter.

The Colt will have a serious collectible "value" because of the mystique of the ultra-smooth Colt revolver. Not only are Pythons extinct... Colt doesn't even make double action revolvers anymore.

The Python has always had the reputation of having the finest, smoothest action of any factory double action revolver in the world. Along with that reputation is one for it's internals being fragile and prone to going out of time.

If you want to buy a revolver that gets a lot of looks and generates envy, or something that will make eyeballs pop out on stalks when it gets inherited, the Python is a better way to go.